Fates, Superstars, and Penguinhats


This episode may have offered something new with a dash of interest but it really never progressed anywhere. Most of the content left me speculating how to tie things up. Not just with Triple-H but with who Sanetoshi really is, who was Himari’s soulmate, and how everything ties to fate and the penguindrum.

Leaving it at that, I have to admit that I wasn’t expecting the two girls at the train ad and the ED song animation to be Himari’s friends and both of them shared the same dream. Though, I wonder what made Himari quit her own dream. Was it because of her mother? Or could it be… Something else?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 17:26:57

    I’m wondering if I’ll regret not dropping this show. The lack of progress and the annoying characters would usually make me drop the show. The thing that make up for it so far is the visual art quality and the never ending piling up of plot elements (though they don’t seem to go anywhere). From the creepy symbolism, sometimes eerie feel and overall uncomfortable randomness of many of the scenes, I feel like I might regret watching this till the end.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 17:33:45

    Well that depends on how gripping the story has been for you. While admittedly this anime has been a huge trollface wtf, there are moments where some of its symbolisms would pique one’s interest, leading us to stick around for more.

    Reply

  3. x
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 18:53:29

    Well, the symbolism never really interest me. What compelled me to continue is the visuals, the plot elements, and the hope that the story will go somewhere interesting (for me, it hasn’t moved an inch). Though, as you say, it’s been such “a huge trollface wtf” so far that I’m wondering what in the world I’ve gotten myself into. So far it hasn’t reach the point of completely making me hate the show yet, and it doesn’t look like it will any time soon. Well, at the rate I’m going, I’ll probably continue watch until it’s too late to quit (I’m afraid I might start hating it then :p), unless I find more compelling shows to watch the coming season, and run out of time for this one.

    Reply

  4. Kuuki
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 22:15:03

    It’d be quite the interesting turn of events if, oh so by chance, said soulmate was Tabuki.

    I was surprised as well for the two idols to be Himari’s friends, guess it means the little details are even more important than I thought they were.

    Aaand Sanetoshi, he may be of the same alien race or whatever as Boshi-sama. They have the same eye color so …

    Reply

  5. Nopy
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 10:51:01

    I’m more interested in what Himari did to everyone to make them hate her. It looks more like a misunderstanding than her actually intentionally harming them.

    Reply

  6. baka~
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 00:06:48

    @Kuuki

    It would be goddamn weird if it was Tabuki but for the speculah on Sanetoshi, that sounds logical

    @Nopy

    It didn’t feel that Himari was hated but whatever caused the distance between the three of them, I sure am interested.

    Reply

    • Kuuki
      Sep 14, 2011 @ 00:40:21

      But even the Tabuki part of my speculations do seem logical to me. (I swear there’s a logic to all of them. Even if it’s not always very obvious ^^)

      See, Ringo’s attracted to him because of her sister. That much I accept.
      And while I’m ready to believe in the strangest love stories I still find Yuri’s attraction to him a bit fishy.
      Honestly, it wouldn’t surprise me if another girl was out there to get him. (even though I don’t really understand why they’d even want him in the first place but that’s another story ^^)

      Reply

      • x
        Sep 14, 2011 @ 04:08:36

        Well, Yuri’s attraction seems fishy to me as well. So, maybe Tabuki is the real penguindrum? ^^

        Not that any of this seems to go anywhere at the moment though.

      • baka~
        Sep 14, 2011 @ 09:24:24

        Yuri is still suspicious but Tabuki being the penguindrum sounds…. insanely logical(?). A part of me don’t want to accept it but that dude seem to be at the center of things :s

  7. Ryo_kun
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 16:52:01

    Himari probably quit her dream and school because she was sick. But i’m not really sure why someone throwed an eraser( seems like it ) at her when she left school. I also never thought that double H were friend’s of Himari. Since they always appear on TV of the train, the ED theme and all, I’ve always thought that they were female representative of Kanba and Shouma.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

