Fucking Tsunderes!!

… FUCK

I think I am a tsundere myself but goddamn I really hate the excessive use of this material in anime. Having tsundere characters are good and all but if this is abused, an entire episode, no wait, an entire season becomes a fucking troll. Having tsunderes around delays actual plot progression. The story never gets anywhere leaving that wasted feeling of spending time watching anime.

Let’s compare Arma with Kirino. Oreimo is an anime that uses tsundere elements to sell. Kirino needs to be a tsundere in order for the plot to progress somewhere. Arma is just a tsundere. And even though his tsundere-ish attitude enables him to act cool. excessive use of it delays the main feature of this anime which would be Shounen battles. Let’s face it, we;re here for the plot and action and effects, not watching some anime with slice of life developments. The same goes with Shana and Aria (both KugiRie roles). Their tsundere attitudes are necessary at times but when used excessively, things don’t progress so well.

While I have yet to give up on Sacred Seven, this episode IS one huge troll. The lame-activity-that-can-hardly-be-called-a-date that they did in this episode is a total bullshit. Half the time was spent on Ruri failing to understand how tsunderes think with the remaining minutes actually progressing on the “real” date and some snippets on what the real enemy is up to.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 18:20:52

    Yeah, it’s annoying. But you have to admit that they dealt with it quite well in this episode. Kind of teasing a bit too much, and not really getting further than what most of us would like, but I found it entertaining enough. Though I find certain scenes had really jarring bad proportions between the sizes of our couple, felt almost I’m watching Gulliver’s Travels. Then again, I didn’t have that high an expectation for this anime, so I guess I don’t judge it the same way I look at other anime perhaps? XD

    Reply

  2. x
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 23:25:52

    Speaking of tsunderes, how many male tsundere did you notice for this season’s anime?

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 13:08:50

    there’s Yuuji from baka to test, this guy, Tohru from HanaIro, Barnaby? I guess that’s it for this season

    Reply

  4. x
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 19:28:07

    Tohru? Really? I always thought he was just misunderstood. Then again, I must admit that the girls in that show distract me too much XD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

