Retribution

I’ve never read a rape doujin as satisfying as this!… Er wait, ain’t this the latest episode of Steins;Gate?

While I do hate seeing women getting punched square at the face, I have to admit, Moeka deserves every agonizing moment in this episode: From her suicide, to being Falcon Punched and kicked to the wall, to being speared, to being pinned to the ground for some rough sex, and finally, receiving a mindfuck from Okarin related to her future suicide and FB’s betrayal… of sorts.

Despite the intense events, I really like the transition from time to time concerning Kurisu’s relationship with Okarin. Considering that this episode may be Okarin’s greatest trial, it’s really comforting knowing that he has a friend that he can rely on.

To be honest, I was expecting Okarin’s confrontation with Moeka but not the subtle changes he showed as his stress catches up. Sure, we see Okarin becoming more and more wasted every time he changes the past, but this time, it seems that he’s on the verge of breaking. Even the simple conversations that he had to engage himself with Kurisu seem to be wearing him out.

To this end, I won’t be surprised if he snaps at her while she’s whining over trivial things like, say, eating her pudding.

Even if she is moody from time to time XD

I also loved how he simply snapped at Moeka, or rather, how his realization lead to that fit of rage. I guess that despite no matter how troubled he is, we could assume that he still does not want to harm anyone. Comparing his behavior with Homura of Madoka Magica, it’s surprisingly decent to see him not wield weapons and deliver swift vengeance to his enemies. From a perspective, I believe he is wasting the potential of his Reading Steiner to train himself in the use of firearms. On another, I think that his method of simply running away proves to be a unique selling point to his character. One that shouts to the world in defiance: “I will not change”. Perhaps, the future, freedom fighter Okarin is different but for this timeline, his defiant stand to be true to himself and avoid violence is something that appeals to me the most.

I think Okarin’s kindness to Moeka proved rewarding in such that she spilled the beans on where the IBN was held. Seeing as how next episode would probably lead to his confrontation with this FB bitch, I’m expecting the unmasking of this perpetrator or probably, the introduction of a new character.

Oh and props to Saori Goto and her acting as Moeka. It’s a shame how I rarely get to hear her take in some lead roles but for her supporting ones, she really does a fine job.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. feal87
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 02:28:19

    Okabe is a proud disciple of Touma Kamijou! 😀

    Reply

  2. Keiri
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 13:10:02

    Except Okabe didn’t falcon punch with “justice” in mind. :p

    Not that we can blame him. If I were in his shoes, I would very well sock the person who murdered someone dear to me, and it was worse for Okabe given how he had to see Mayuri killed by Moeka over and over again. While we’re on topic… I guess this episode was meant to give us a glimpse of Moeka’s background story and how she became the person she was portrayed to be in the past episodes but somehow… I’m not feeling so much of it. I did feel sorry for Moeka’s situation before she was given a purpose by FB but I probably would have felt more sympathetic if they disclose more of exactly what molded her psychological state into the way it is (apart from the revelation that she thinks she was not good at anything and that she lived an antisocial life). Oh well, maybe I should just give up on the fussy idea that everyone needs some sort of solid justification for their present condition. :s

    Seeing as how next episode would probably lead to his confrontation with this FB bitch, I’m expecting the unmasking of this perpetrator or probably, the introduction of a new character.

    Hmm… Judging from the trend of how stories are written nowadays, I have a feeling the unmasking of this FB person would turn out to be more of a twist than anything else. A new character would seem rather anticlimactic when the plot is now moving towards the climax so I’m willing to bet FB is someone we’ve seen before, just not an individual we expect to be a traitor.

    Oh and props to Saori Goto and her acting as Moeka. It’s a shame how I rarely get to hear her take in some lead roles but for her supporting ones, she really does a fine job.

    Ah Shaori… I have a bit of a love-meh fandom for her. I don’t find her acting particularly impressive (the same way I feel indifferent towards Chihara Minori and Kotobuki Minako’s acting for example) despite the scores of roles she has done, but I mostly attribute it to the timbre of her voice especially whenever her character talks normally. However, she’s downright brilliant when it comes to spewing crazy emotional outbursts be it shrieking, wailing or rage fest tirades. She’s one of the extremely few people who I actually love listening to them scream. They should give her more psycho/yandere roles. 😀

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 22:27:35

    I’m willing to bet FB is someone we’ve seen before, just not an individual we expect to be a traitor.

    I read from a comment in another blog that perhaps, FB must’ve been Mayuri… Well, looking back, I did suspect her to be affiliated with SERN along with Feyris but because she died, I gave up on the thought. But what if Mayuri is planning something and requires her death for all this to happen? Maybe everything, even Okarin’s going back in time, was her plan all along =/

    She’s one of the extremely few people who I actually love listening to them scream

    If my memory serves me correctly, you did mention that you were a sadist … >_<

    But honestly, looking at Saori Goto's roles, I noticed she had many support than main ones and oftentimes, support characters gets overshadowed by very good main characters

    Reply

    • Keiri
      Aug 15, 2011 @ 12:12:58

      But what if Mayuri is planning something and requires her death for all this to happen? Maybe everything, even Okarin’s going back in time, was her plan all along =/

      You mean kind of similar to Death Note’s Yagami Light mucking himself first in order to have a one up over L? I guess that’s possible. In a way, Mayuri could have planned this all along to accomplish a greater plan either for herself or for SERN if that was the case. But as you mentioned, she died halfway unlike Light. And if she’s dead, how would she have the assurance about the successes and consequences that will stem from her sacrifice? Furthermore, what are her reasons for doing this? What benefits (for herself or for another) did she have in mind about this? I guess those are the most puzzling pieces at the moment because I can’t quite put my finger on why Mayuri would want to go to such great lengths to stage this process. A sacrifice for Okabe? Or a sacrifice for another party? ^_^?

      It does bring up an interesting thought in itself though because sometimes facades can be deceiving. But hmm… At the moment, my speculations are leaning towards someone who operates without any emotional attachment or empathy with Okabe. That way, that person can freely make objective (and coldhearted) decisions which are not based on their feelings (Shot in the dark guess from this assessment – Mr Braun? Or even his daughter, Nae lol *Is bricked*). Then again, I could be wrong because if the writers are aiming for an unpredictable twist, someone who is close to Okabe turning out to be a traitor would be a very effective suckerpunch.

      If my memory serves me correctly, you did mention that you were a sadist …

      Reeeeally? Me? A sadist? I said that before? My memory is extremely bad so I can’t quite remember~~~ (*´ω`*)

      Ahaha I’m not sure whether I consider myself a sadist. I like listening to Shaori scream for example but if it’s someone like Omigawd or KugiRie screaming, I fear my ears would bleed and my eyeballs would explode.

      But let’s put it this way… One of the things I enjoy most is listening to and watching sadists bully masochists e.g. Hara Yumi verbally screwing and leading Mingosu by the nose (and I love how Mingosu frequently flirts with Hara and is always subtly asking for “abuse” lol); Hanazawa stabbing Pikasha with her tsukkomis (and yes, I also love how Pikasha is always asking for it although most of the time, she’s the one who p!sses off Kana first ahaha)… Hey, wait… Does that make me a sadist for liking those things? XD

      But honestly, looking at Saori Goto’s roles, I noticed she had many support than main ones and oftentimes, support characters gets overshadowed by very good main characters

      I reckon this lies with her voice suitability and I do sympathize with Gotou in that sense. Acting aside, her voice is one of those types which doesn’t seem to fit the template of many lead heroines and their personalities nowadays. She has a rather heavy and distinctive nasal tone which suppresses most of her voice, even when she’s doing happy and energetic characters (To be honest, I cringe sometimes when I hear her voicing lively individuals because her voice just doesn’t fit no matter how spot on her acting is >_<). I guess this quality is not very suitable if the casting directors have a biased preference for clearer, sharper voices of VAs like say, Tomatsu Haruka or Taketatsu Ayana.

      By the way, Gotou did have a recent lead heroine role, right? As Q in “[C]: The Money of Soul and Possibility Control”? I haven’t watched that series yet so I’d like to know, how did she fare in that one? 🙂

      Reply

  4. baka~
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 01:29:13

    Then again, I could be wrong because if the writers are aiming for an unpredictable twist, someone who is close to Okabe turning out to be a traitor would be a very effective suckerpunch.

    I remembered how Chaos;Head presented the antagonist as the series ends and it wasn’t someone that the protagonist encountered before leaving me ranting at how shitty the development was in suddenly presenting some bad guy. I hope this doesn’t happen in this series.

    Hey, wait… Does that make me a sadist for liking those things? XD

    Most… probably? let’s think of it this way, if you are given one whole day to do anything to one of your favorite seiyuu, would you raep her to satisfy eargasm? -_-

    By the way, Gotou did have a recent lead heroine role, right? As Q

    She’s hardly a protagonist in that series and she uses her Barasuisho deadpan voice… Oh and [C] is one hell of a major disappointment. Viewers beware X_X

    Reply

Leave a Reply

