Doing as Parisians do


Focusing more of Yune’s naivety, this episode taught her what it means to “learn” from another’s culture the hard way. As expected of the betrayal she experienced first-hand, Yune’s resolve made her lose sight of herself and sowed seeds of distrust among people.

While I do admire her noble intentions especially after her business-oriented exchange between Claude regarding the treatment of their customers, Yune is way too kind for her own good and such kindness opens up a box of misfortune granted unto her by opportunists such as the boy who stole from the shop.

In retrospect with the events in this episode, we did learn the merits of business ethics in Paris. For one, shop owners value the life of their employees more than their goods. Then again, perhaps this treatment is exclusive only to Claude. Regardless, I do understand how beneficial it is to have such an employer. In my case, comparing the benefits of working for an American and Chinese employer, I have to admit that my American boss is a better choice when it comes to employee welfare. We’re not required to commit overtime (most of the time) and they even take care of health benefits (without affecting my salary).

This doesn’t mean it’s all fun and games though. Like with how this episode reflects the pros and cons of Japanese and Parisian-business mindset, there are similarities that can be trailed back to my personal experience.

I think I’ve been treating IkoMei much like HanaIro considering how HanaIro’s pace reverted totally to being plain old slice of life. Well, I don’t want to emphasize that IkoMei is better when it comes to explaining the business mindset of established societies. If anything, I think HanaIro still excels in that field. It’s just that IkoMei is far more enjoyable to watch since it has a loli taking the lead :p

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kuuki
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 22:16:57

    Oh you and your lolis XD
    I’m not too sure shop owners really value their employes lives more than the customers though, it’s just Claude.

    Aaand, it’s kinda true that most of the time and still now, people tend to react badly and/or be scared off when a shop keeper or anyone like that starts to talk to them without being uninvited. Most of them aren’t really very nice either.
    I feel their suspicious eyes on me whenever I go shopping, I’d rather have Yune

    Reply

  2. x
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 22:33:53

    Another enjoyable episode. I have not much to say, as I agree with baka~’s assessment of bosses in general (judging from my personal experiences and from chats with acquaintances). There are always exceptions of course. Sigh, I can’t decide if I want Yune or Dalian more XD

    Reply

  3. Snippett
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 22:48:58

    What I liked the most on this episode was how Yune learned first hand the reality of a different environment–that it’s never going to be the same as what she’d been used to. And, although this show magnified the scary reality (having a kid as a thief) that not all be can be trusted, I commend how it still brought us back to the realization that there are still people who are worthy of our trust.

    I liked how you exemplified your employer. You even mentioned that he’s American which really correlates with Yune. But anyway, Clause’s care for Yune might be exclusive, but since it was shown that they’re nice people I believed he also cares for Yune as an employer.

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 22:53:26

    @Kuuki

    I guess it’s within our culture as Filipinos to invite potential customers inside the shop. To be honest, I’d be paranoid if a foreigner invited me to check out his/her goods… well, there are exceptions but it’s still awkward for me

    @ X

    It’s already Sunday and in a few more hours i’ll be hauling my butt back to work but there’s still so many anime left to watch… Good thing I convert some so that I can watch them over my psp but still… X_X

    @ snippet

    reflective entirely of how the world works yet is oddly seen through the eyes of a child, IkoMei is doing a good job in teaching what’s right and wrong and I think this simple approach is effective in itself for brushing the viewers with its own appeal (a mix of episodic moral lessons and moe)

    Reply

  5. x
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 23:49:15

    @baka~

    It’s all about trust and how much you have to lose or how much you are willing to risk for that trust. Personally, I have good and bad experiences with friendly/not-friendly shop keepers, so I tend to be weary of shop keepers in general, unless I’m in the mood to deal with them, friendly or not.

    Too many anime and too much work. Not fun. I had jobs where I worked so hard that I didn’t have time for any anime at all ( no time for manga or any personal life either, but that’s another story 😛 ), so I understand. Good luck trying to find more time. I imagine the fall season won’t make things any easier.

    @Snippett

    Well, Clause’s level of care for everyone in the story so far has been much deeper than I expected. I mean, look at how he treats Alice, despite saying that he hates her family and how she treats him.

    Reply

  6. x
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 01:41:07

    Sigh, another late anime, Copihan, starts this week.

    Reply

  7. baka~
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 06:14:28

    @ X

    I don’t really mind school comedy and all so long as somebody gets interested in subbing this…. But damn… I need to mow down my anime for this season before the next ones come barging in OTL

    Reply

    • x
      Aug 10, 2011 @ 10:56:47

      seems like some shows are taking this week off for obon. I guess that might give you some relief. On the other hand, I’m OTL because kaminomi (manga) basically took one whole month off (no new chapter this week either 😦 ).

      Reply

  8. Yi
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 14:33:00

    I agree. Yune is a little too kind for her own good. It almost kind of makes her a bit one-dimensional too. It’s good to see her changing though, albeit accompanied with a lot of confusing. Adorable confusion.

    Reply

  9. baka~
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 00:08:06

    I think her ignorance is fitting for her age. It would honestly feel awkward should Yune act like some knowledgeable loli instead of her innocent charm… (wasn’t Innocent Charm in Ro Kyu Bu?)

    Reply

  10. x
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 01:01:14

    Ohhh~~~~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

