Escalating Paranoia

I have to hand it to Ringo, without her, this show would've probably sucked ass

Following the hunt for the ambiguous penguindrum, the events in this episode proves that not everyone is who they seem to be. From the actress, Yuri Tokikago, to Asami Kuhou, it seems that every one of them have some affiliation with this object. Take for instance Yuri’s awareness of Ringo’s advances to Tabuki. While one might argue that it’s a woman’s intuition if a rival attempts to steal her man, I think her declaration that Ringo doesn’t have a chance of winning against her holds more weight than what we perceive.

If Ringo IS chosen by fate, prophecized by that diary, how come she kept fucking up? The only conclusion I have here is that Yuri have “something” that counters Ringo’s “destiny”. Whatever that item is, it could be the penguindrum or simply another alien technology much like the Penguin Hat and the Destiny Diary.

In retrospect, I’m beginning to understand why Ringo is becoming a prominent figure for this anime. Entertainment factor aside, her existence in “holding on” to such an “item” probably gave Kanba the idea that they’re not the only ones involved in this item hunt or probably, they’re not the only wielders of such device.

Let’s also not forget how the diary predicted the events of a red-shoed lady (Asami) on a train station. Was her accident caused by Ringo in order to fulfill her “destiny” or was someone manipulating another from behind the shadows? Probably the one Asami was speaking to in her phone.

Whoever that mysterious lady was, she seems to be aware of how everything is working and how things would fall perfectly into place, even Asami’s accident.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 18:58:04

    Just when I thought it was getting repetitive, the show goes all shoujo manga on me. My jaws dropped when the cut out fairy tail animation didn’t stop for most of this episode. Then, at the end, someone falls possibly to her death with a to be continued feel. I suspect that we might not even get to know who pushed her in the next episode. Why does this show troll me so bad? Why do I still want to watch the next episode, knowing that it will probably continue to torture me with more of this? Arrrrrrggggg…

    Reply

  2. Kuuki
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 22:06:45

    That diary is definitely interesting, however you see it, I think the predictions are related to Ringo in some way or another, so she must be connected to Asami, I wonder how.

    The singing bits caught me totally off guard though, but it was so funny!

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 22:12:05

    Why do I still want to watch the next episode, knowing that it will probably continue to torture me with more of this?

    let’s face it, Mawaru Penguindrum may not have an attractive story but being a sore thumb out of this season’s batch, it is interesting… Unless you’re more interested in, say, Sacred Seven? (God I wish animesenshi releases already!)

    The singing bits caught me totally off guard though, but it was so funny!

    I have to admit that Mamiko Noto going all engrish made my jaw drop. Well, I think this isn’t her first time singing this way but like you, I was totally not expecting that XD

    Reply

  4. x
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 23:48:43

    Heh, Sacred Seven. Still undecided on that. Penguindrum somehow keeps me wanting to watch more. Though I get really frustrated for the two brothers running around and still not knowing what they are looking for.

    What really got to me was my jaw dropped when the cut out fairy tail animation started, with singing, dancing and all that. I totally did not expect scenes like that in this anime. I guess we should expect scenes like this whenever Ringo gets involved. Not saying that I did not enjoy it, but it makes me cringe as well. It distracts from the other scenes.

    Kanba getting cornered by three of his ex-girlfriends. Asami seemed rather reluctant to confront Kanba. I hope they didn’t kill her off just like that. Shouma ending up saving Ringo could have been seen from a mile away. Was hoping that there would be a twist to that. The skunk seems like yet another distraction.

    If this is all due to outer space aliens, I’m starting to think that it’s just a huge RPG game for them with humans as NPC.

    Reply

  5. baka~
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 01:14:24

    It distracts from the other scenes.

    I think this is one of the merits of this anime. It’s able to juggle its viewers into enjoyable, mindless nonsense before presenting us with a subtle transition that would often lead us screaming WTF?! (Asami’s accident)

    Since you mentioned Sho saving her, I was surprised he was able to read her diary without even coming into conflict with his morals… Unless he’s a fucking hypocrite!! DX

    Reply

    • x
      Aug 01, 2011 @ 02:06:32

      Well, I have always considered him a hypocrite. Sometimes I wonder if his good guy act is just to differentiate himself from his brother. Then again, he tends to unconsciously get tempted and lose control of himself. He does not good enough self discipline to keep to his morals in my opinion.

      Reply

  6. Snippett
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 02:17:46

    The diary is really amusing. First we don’t know if Ringo writes on the diary, or the diary writes for Ringo. Second, if the diary indeed prophesizes destiny then why does Ringo need to strictly follow it and take it as her mission? Third, I started to wonder whether outside forces can influence the dependability of the diary, because as we have witnessed the skunk and snake almost ruined Ringo’s destiny. Well, as for Ringo she’s screwed for believing that she’s saved by Tabuki and not Shoma.

    Reply

  7. baka~
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 06:29:56

    Good points there Abs. Seeing as this anime will run for 24 episodes, I guess they’ll go and cover these points of truth eventually though I am inclined to believe that the items that other people hold are capable of interfering with such destiny. Take for instance that suspicious gun that some lady in the OP is doing poses with. There’s probably something about it coming along the level of penguin alien technology or whatnot.

    Reply

  8. x
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 14:23:48

    I think Shoma will be in for a world of hurt the day Ringo discovers that he saved her. For Ringo, regardless of the diary’s capabilities, she feels it is her duty to make what is written in the diary come true. It’s a belief that she has to work for her “destiny” to come true. With other people potentially interfering with “destiny”, I guess this anime will keep us guessing. It seem to be taking the concept of controlling one’s “destiny”, dragging it through the logical consequence of having conflicting “destinies” of others, and entertaining us with the ensuing mayhem.

    Reply

  9. Ryo_kun
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 00:29:06

    I think Ringo didn’t screw up. It’s just that she didn’t state the details for the events properly. It did happen according to the time but varies a little like Tabuki eating Yuri’s lunch instead of hers, the caterpillar incident and such. Just my two cents though coz it’s really hard to decide the controller of ‘fate’ when the show is doing so good on confusing us like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

