Going Back to Zero

You know what comes next after this


I recalled back with my earlier conversations with either Keiri or Tsuki how it came to be that Kyouma was the only one who retained his memories after each worldline move. This doesn’t seem to be the case for this episode as we found out that Feyris may even be keeping such flashbacks/flashforwards a secret. On her part, perhaps, she shrugged it off as Deja Vu since she could hardly explain what was happening anyway but basing from this, we could assume that everyone who made the worldline move also inherited Kyouma’s Reading Steiner but to a lesser level of retention. Perhaps, the secret why Kyouma was able to remember is because of his subsequent exposure to it, honing his ability until he finally perfects it.

Back to Feyris’ story, I was eagerly expecting her to be more demanding and would argue with Kyouma on how she desires to live longer with her dad but for her to realize everything’s worth, not just her father’s life but her wishes and her friendship with Mayuri, I never expected her to make such a selfless, mature decision. To be honest, her moe level is over the top right now just because of the personality that she showed in this episode.

THIS IS DEFINITELY AN H-FLAG!!! Too bad, I read that Steins;Gate VN had no H... well, there's always doujins XD

The episode ends hinting the possibility that Feyris may have remembered everything, the painful and joyous moments with her father as well as her sacrifice. This leads me to believe that Kyouma’s next targets may actually put up a fight, especially Moeka whom I consider to be the most troublesome. Her devotion for this FB fucker is unmatched and she probably won’t spill the beans regarding what she sent via the D-MAIL. If anything, I think it’s better if Kyouma fucks her up first, undoing her wish and checking if Mayuri would still die. To be honest, Ruri and Feyris deserve their wishes (I don’t want Ruri to return back to a trap) and seeing how Moeka is probably the bitch who sold them out, it’s probably her fault that this whole Mayuri slaying happened in the first place.

Any chance of Feyris regretting to save Mayuri so she could have Kyouma all to herself?

Also, while the concept of being born in the future and dying in the past creeps me out, it’s good to know that this version of Suzuha which died of illness succeeded in her objective. At least having her die as she cherishes her memories is better than the one who died in despair. Though, I kinda miss not seeing her in this episode. I guess her death in the past definitely erased her existence in the present.

Lastly, I’m beginning to get interested in Steins;Gate’s gameplay. I have no idea how it works but seeing how engaging it is to make decisions that would affect “future” events is a pretty inviting game concept. Well, considering how this has been the flow of most visual novels, I guess what invites me is the concept of going back in time to undo the choices you made. Imo, this is different from loading a saved game just to ensure you don’t fuck up. But since I can’t understand Japanese then I guess i’ll be a long wait until somebody releases an english version… and until I get to upgrade my PC… OTL

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kuuki
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 20:19:45

    To be honest I never expected Feyris to decide to un-do her D-mail, never.
    I was impressed, I know I would never have done it.

    That episode made me wondering though, is it me or did we see her father alive in one previous episode, BEFORE she sent her D-mail (but I have to admit it’s been a while and it’s been rather blurry so it’s probably my mistake)
    Then, second question, how could she prevent her father’s death with a single D-mail when Okarin couldn’t save Mayuri no matter how many times he tried or what he could do.
    I can only think it’s a matter of impact on the future of the world, so, she must be much more important than I thought she was.

    Reply

  2. tsurugiarashix
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 22:41:21

    Changing the future that is not meant to be changed in such way yields serious consequences. Even though Feryis and Ruri deserved their wishes, seems like their actions/changes are just apart of the events leading to Mayuri’s death…well in the way of it/escaping that path. Do not time to finish the VN at the moment, so interested in seeing what direction this goes.

    Yup, the VN is non-H. Not sure if the fandisc is….

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 22:20:26

    how could she prevent her father’s death with a single D-mail when Okarin couldn’t save Mayuri no matter how many times he tried or what he could do

    my theory in this is that her message about the kidnapping prevented her father from boarding the plane while her “correction” made her father board it, leading to the plane crash.

    as for Okarin, I think the only way to prevent Mayuri’s death is to kill Moeka or this FB bastard but I think Okarin is still in a stage where “he doesn’t want to hurt others even if they are after Mayuri’s life”. Well, unlike Madoka Magica where we see Moemura transform to her badass self, we never saw Okarin step up to that level. He gets emotionally broken instead of trying to practice using firearms and shit. I guess there are limitations to one’s resolve and in that, we see Okarin’s struggle for sanity and morals.

    @tsurugi

    despite your sharing of that VN translation group, I’m not finding time to sit down and sort things out. I guess juggling around anime, gaming, and work takes a chunk off my time (not even having enough time to play my PSP X_X).

    seems like their actions/changes are just apart of the events leading to Mayuri’s death

    Now this is something of interest. How can all these events (Ruri’s gender swap, Feyris dad resu) lead to Mayuri’s demise? I find it interesting in so many ways how these individual events would trigger a grander scheme XD

    Reply

    • Kuuki
      Jul 31, 2011 @ 22:52:11

      But Mayuri died even in a situation where Moeka and FB weren’t involved, so I’m sticking with my theory.

      I think Okarin will probably snap at some point and kill everyone in sight, not too sure how many times he’ll be able to withstand Mayuri’s death.

      Reply

  4. baka~
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 23:23:19

    But Mayuri died even in a situation where Moeka and FB weren’t involved, so I’m sticking with my theory.

    Oh crap, thanks for reminding me! If it’s not Moeka’s gang, it’s fate itself wanting to butcher Mayuri!! T_T

    Reply

  5. Keiri
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 00:11:29

    How can all these events (Ruri’s gender swap, Feyris dad resu) lead to Mayuri’s demise? I find it interesting in so many ways how these individual events would trigger a grander scheme

    That is one of the most brain-racking questions, isn’t it? That elements as seemingly irrelevant as Ruka and Feyris’ wishes could have played a part in linking a chain of events which led to something as significant as Mayuri’s death.

    But… Do you think it’s possible that only one event triggered all this? One mother of all events which landed Okabe in the rut he’s in now, with the other events being nothing but trailing consequences to it when we’re taking about the roles each of those events played i.e. continuously moving Okabe to a new world line each time, and nothing more (Except maybe for Moeka’s text?). In this episode, Kurisu has listed five D mails which moved world lines – the Lotto 6, Moeka’s, Ruka’s, Feyris’, and tailing Suzuha. My question is, what about the first world line move which Okabe experienced in Episode 1? The one in which he texted Daru about Kurisu’s stabbing incident? His Reading Steiner activated then just like it did whenever D mails were sent later on. Could that first text be solely responsible for bringing about the fate that led to Mayuri’s death?

    Ah btw, I saw your tweet. Not sure whether you still need this ^^:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Queen%27s_Blade_characters#Queen.27s_Gate_characters
    It has all the VAs shown in the Youtube trailer except for Fujita Kazue (Dizzy).

    Reply

  6. baka~
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 02:13:29

    i.e. continuously moving Okabe to a new world line each time, and nothing more

    similar with how Homura caused Madoka’s power to increase just by travelling back in time?

    Could that first text be solely responsible for bringing about the fate that led to Mayuri’s death?

    Hmm… is it really possible to trigger such an event because of Kyouma’s accident? If anything, didn’t that cause a chain of events leading to the discovery of D-Mail? The paradox here would be that none of this would’ve ever happened if Kyouma didn’t attempt to experiment the D-Mail reverting back to the first few episodes where the characters that Kyouma met have their “routes” locked, sealing the possibility of character development =/

    But still, this is an interesting and solid turn around of events.

    It has all the VAs shown in the Youtube trailer except for Fujita Kazue (Dizzy).

    Ugh, for it to be just in wikipedia, I’m definitely losing my hype for seiyuu stalking gathering info… OTL

    Still, you’re really a goddess Keiri! Arigatou! XD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

