Yesu ; Desu

You have to admit, this scene is sexy


True to what i’ve read, Dantalian no Shoka is a decent enough anime. In all honestly, hearing Miyuki Sawashiro on the role reminded me of Rozen Maiden in so many ways. First was her Shinku voice and the other being Suiseiseki who is best known for her excessive use of ~desu.

Even though compared already by others, Dantalian no Shoka is definitely a breather from the annoying aspects of last season’s anime: Gosick; forgoing mystery for fantasy and giving us a truly capable protagonist that, while being skeptical, does not whine, or bitch 24/7 and is capable of engaging enemies in combat.

The magical spellcasting by reading an entire page is enjoyable to watch though I really can’t make any inferences about it… I honestly think that chanting the entire thing was a bit time consuming so I was wondering what the dragon was doing during that span of time. Ah whatever, overall, I think i’ll be enjoying this anime quite a bit… Even if the ED music vid is creepy as fuck! X_X

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. x
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 05:34:21

    Wish they promoted this one a bit more. I think I will enjoy this more than many of the other animes this season.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 07:43:00

    Well, if we’re talking about enjoyable anime within the realms of fantasy, I guess this is a contender against… er… Sacred Seven? Come to think of it, this season feels lacking short in the action-fantasy department… and no, no Blood C… Penguindrum is still unknown and kurousagi feels crap… orz

    Reply

  3. abscissa
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 09:13:17

    If there’s anything I fear for this anime that is it might turn out to be an episodical combat. I’m really hoping that the approach might be at least similar to [C], where the character story is much much more significant than fighting. Other than that, its first episode is really nice and the animation is just superb. I also like Huey’s character. Since a lot people are already comparing this to Gosick, I’d say that Huey is everything that I wished Kujo was.

    Reply

  4. x
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 13:07:18

    Sigh, for a character that we hate so much. We sure mention his name a lot. lol

    I liked the manga for Dantalian, was looking forward to the anime. As for other anime, I was mainly thinking of kurousagi and kamisama-dolls. For both of them, I didn’t like the manga, was hoping I would like the anime better, but it didn’t work for me. For Kamisama Memo, didn’t like the manga, but the anime so far seems good. It’s not fantasy though. No.6 is not my thing. And it’s more like sci-fi. All these happen to be novel adaptations. We seem to be flooded with them this season, even more than last season.

    Sacred Seven feels like watching an animated version of Kamen Rider with lots of other sentai/mecha/game elements mixed in. Fun, but that’s just nostalgia talk. I hope it gets better. Somehow I never seem to enjoy CLAMP anime, and Blood-C didn’t change my mind. Nurarihyon is not my thing. Penguindrum feels like it is trolling. Still hoping it will get better. Nekogami jokes feel flat, Touhou doujins seems better. I don’t even know what to think of Manyuu, feels like a combo of Sengoku Otome + Seikon no Qwaser. Would anyone consider Ikoku fantasy? Usagi Drop manga spoiled it for me after the time skip. Otherwise I might have enjoyed it. No fantasy element in it either. Not saying that I’m not enjoying other anime this season, but for the fantasy elements, I think I might enjoy Dantalian more than others.

    Reply

    • baka~
      Jul 19, 2011 @ 22:36:42

      I think you’d all agree with me in saying that Kujo is by far, the most annoying protagonist in an anime. Back then, I seriously thought that Haruhi would take over the throne of most annoying, most intimidating character, followed by feal Kyubey, then Masakaki, but now, I think there’s no one who can beat Kujo.

      Animation-wise, you gotta hand it to JC Staff. While they may butcher some of their anime story (Zero no Tsukaima 2 and 3 anyone?), they are capable of animating lovable characters but as for the rest of your comment, everything makes sense in how Dantalian rose up and appealed to you more.

      Well, I may have argued about Sacred Seven if you hadn’t mentioned that it is reminiscent of Kamen Rider series. As for CLAMP, I guess the only work that I liked was when they did help in Code Geass

      Reply

      • x
        Jul 20, 2011 @ 02:38:52

        Kujo wins the most annoying character award. Heh.

        Agree about JC Staff. I still can’t forgive them for what they did to Yumekui Merry, but they have produced good anime as well.

  5. Ryo_kun
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 15:17:27

    Well this is probably my second best anime on my watching list this season. Seeing as this show is compared with Gosick by most, i’m glad that the made lead this time is not as wimpy as you-know-who.

    Reply

    • x
      Jul 21, 2011 @ 05:40:40

      Just curious. Honest question, what is your best anime on your watching list this season?

      Reply

      • baka~
        Jul 21, 2011 @ 22:44:37

        @X

        If that question is directed at me then honestly, I haven’t seen anything yet to be considered as best for this season. Dantalian started late so I don’t want to judge it easily. Ikoku Meiro and Usagi Drop would definitely be contenders for my criteria of “best” considering these two anime delivered (1) enjoyment, (2) realism, and (3) content. Well, people may argue about Ikoku Meiro’s fail facts related with France but I think that it’s best if we look at this anime as if it were HanaIro when it comes to business-oriented approach.

  6. x
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 06:45:20

    @baka~

    The question was directed at everyone (or anyone who would like to answer it) 🙂

    Personally, I have not pick a “best anime” yet either. I have high hopes for Dantalian, but it just started, will have to see where they go with that. To my surprise, and delight, Kamisama no Memo-chou is a contender for me, consider that I didn’t like the manga. Lots of guilty pleasures for me this seasons, though it would be hard for me to pick any of them as “best”.

    As for Ikoku Meiro, it is more like an impression of 19th century France. It’s not necessarily factually accurate, but it does give a 21st century Japanese interpretation of 19th century European culture. It probably reflects on our 21st century semi-internationalized, semi-liberalized history and culture more than anything else.

    Reply

  7. Leap250
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 22:52:52

    There are only a few contender for “best anime” if you look at it. I guess Usagi is the top contender for me. KamiMemo is a close second, I’ll wait till episode two of Dantalian, if it will stay awesome as it was in the first episode.

    Blood-C was one of my first picks, and man was it a disappointment. I really hope Dantalian doesn’t become a “book of the week” kind of thing.

    Reply

  8. fanaddict22
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 20:11:54

    Starting Dantalian just today and it looks quite promising. Well, hopefully. And yeah, the EP’s real creepy as hell. Haha. XD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

