Bullshitting the land of the weird…

Tackling on two new anime this season that doesn’t make sense.

Sacred Seven is supposedly added to this list but IMO, it’s a decent anime with a plot that leads to somewhere (even if it is the unknown) and a first episode that left a good impression… When it comes to first episode impressions, I can’t say much about the next two.

It’s too early to judge if these two anime sucks. I’m not saying I hate them either but both of them share the same boring fiasco during the first half of the episode before trying to make things interesting… Which didn’t work for me.

Take for instance, Mawaru Penguin Drum. Now the character designs are reminiscent of old style (Hana Yori Dango comes to mind) which I find disturbing (for some reason, I’m troubled looking at it) but my main concern is how slow everything started before it went to total randomness.

I really can’t comprehend what the fuck happened after she got possessed by that Penguin God or what. They were suddenly transported in some world where there’s robots(?) and she’s removing more of her clothing as she comes closer to them before finally taking “something” from the oldest of the siblings. Where did that happen? Dream World? N-Field?

I mean, I’m fine with random and unexplained first episodes and all (like sacred seven) but the formula of dramatic turning to weird is not sinking in on me which was followed by BloodC.

Now if we’re talking about character designs, CLAMP is the way to go. The rich colors of this anime are attractive but the first half was, again, utter boring. I have nothign against Nana Mizuki, I love her as a seiyuu and a singer but the first half where we get to see Saya’s life and she began singing felt really out of place… and boring (how many times did I say that word?).

I haven’t watched the original Blood series but from what I understand from this episode, Saya’s family runs a demon killing business where Saya’s father is, according to her, “honest, kind, and tough” but seeing as how he asks her daughter to do the killing, I’d like to add “Incompetent!!”. I’d really like to hear what explanation they have for this (father asks daughter to murder demons) and I do hope it’s interesting at least.

Aside from the choice ofbackground music that doesn’t hit the mood and the bullshit OP song, two things that made me stick my guns for this episode would be wanting to hear Nana Mizuki’s deep, vampire-sexy voice (like the transformed Akashiya Moka) which I didn’t hear at any point, and the fight choreography which was really badass. Aside from seeing the gundam exia spin slash at the OP animation, the brutal fight scenes, especially the part where the mantis buddha shit gripped her head (to the point of crushing it) left an awsm impression on how gory this can be.

This again left questions such as why didn’t she die (that is one powerful grip imo)? why did her eyes change? what was that sword about? etc.

I guess these two anime deserve a second look considering how unsatisfied I am. Depending on what happens next episode, I may drop it for all its worth.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kuuki
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 00:18:50

    I still don’t know what I watched with PenguinDrum, I honestly don’t.
    The problem I have with it is that the only thing it left me is a WTF feeling, it made me laugh a bit but if in the end there’s nothing else it’ll grow boring very fast.

    ANd Blood-C, well I tried to watch the original serie and I watched the movie but in these, Saya’s father is a former american soldier trying to protect her from killing demons, so it seems to be the total opposite.
    Well, I’m not watching anyway ^^

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 00:46:24

    I kinda understand your WTF feeling about Mawaru. Everything was totally random. I honestly would’ve liked the fact that the protagonist is voiced by a rookie seiyuu trying to make a name but I don’t think she’ll succeed because of the randomness… well, there’s always the next episode

    Reply

  3. tomphile
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 03:39:45

    I don’t know why, I hate CLAMP’s absurd body proportions.

    Reply

  4. Tsuki
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 23:13:55

    Bleh, Blood-C’s first episode was kind of garbage. I’ll admit that the action sequence was pretty spectacular, but that’s the only thing I’ll say there for Blood-C

    As for Mawaru Penguindrum, it’s confusing at times sure, but there is a lot of symbolism and small details that do have some sort of connection, and are pointing towards some rather disturbing ideas in the future. It’s amazing how many different ways of interpreting some of these details and themes are, especially consideirng how it’s only the first episode we’ve seen so far.

    It seems “random”, but it is deliberate crafted to have a huge disconnect between reality and fantasy. It’s used to good effect, which I appreciate.

    Reply

  5. feal87
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 00:24:15

    Quite shocked by Blood-C at the moment. I was hoping for something on the Blood+ levels, but…well…:(

    Reply

  6. Ryo_kun
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 17:21:46

    I didn’t like Blood C as well. It was friggin boring. There are no explanations regarding the sword or whatsoever but they better have one. I only choose to watch this because of Blood +’s reputation.

    Reply

  7. baka~
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 17:47:56

    I immediately dropped Blood C after reading spoilers… Good thing since I wanted to make time in watching more worthwhile anime. Have yet to watch Penguindrum though

    Reply

Leave a Reply

