Gosick Finale: And they lived happily ever after…

I’m such a sucker for fairy tale-like endings and Gosick is no exception. They might have trolled us for 20 or so episodes but the final arc and this conclusion was all I could wish for.

While I kept frowning at Kujou’s idiocy, I never really noticed Victorique’s transition from a cold, uncaring character to someone who has a heart. It’s not that I don’t notice her showing some emotion but the entire journey of Victorique’s emotional state was a bit subtle, most likely my lack of noticing such a development because of my hatred for Kujou.

Going back, nursing Brian until his last moments was a proof of how she have changed. Back then, even if she cared deeply for Kujou, she’d rarely show her emotions around him or would even exert effort. During her moments with Brian, she seriously struggled hard in order to save his life. Her realization on how life is important made me realize of how greatly she improved herself as a character coming to terms with how different she is from back then.

GAR MODE!!!

Following Kuuki’s hopes about Grevil, it did turn out that he’s on her side after all. Or rather, for the last time. While his happy ending didn’t merit him going together with his childhood friend, I think the stoic man who got his job back as an inspector is befitting of his simple lifestyle. With his father gone, what more could he ask for?

We also caught a glimpse of other characters of this series such as Ambrose which seem to be able to use the Wellspring of Wisdom, as hinted when the book he’s reading animated for him, Roget going back to reveal that he knew everything all along about Queen Coco and the King, surprisingly surviving the war (He should’ve died dammit!), Avril still being left out, and Cecile and Sophie going back to the academy.

While it was never revealed how her hair became permanently silver, I think her new look is fitting for her change and a fitting description of her lineage as a Gray Wolf rather than Monstre Charmant.

I also never expected that she’d travel to Japan to reach Kujou’s home and wait for him there. That’s… a logically convenient plot device that makes sense.

SUIGINTOOOOU!!!

While I seriously enjoyed this anime, I think that they could’ve done a better job at omitting certain arcs, condensing it to 12 episode. But well, everything must have a reason and considering the entire journey, Gosick deserved this fairy tale happy ending.

p.s. Kujou still didn’t make any over the top GAR moments in this episode… in this entire arc! I would’ve loved it if she showed off his sniping skills

p.s.s. I would’ve loved it if Kujou snagged the GAR award by kissing Victorique or proposing to her or doing something manly! FUCK!!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kuuki
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 20:18:01

    MWAHAHA told you Grevil was a nice guy!

    But yeah, you know, Kujo, he said he had something he wanted to tell her in person, he should at least have said it, well, we can imagined he proposed considering she was running in a wedding gown but I would have wanted to hear it.

    Still, I was in awe in front of my computer and damn that was a good ending!

    Reply

  2. cray
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 22:03:48

    Happy end after all – this series got me so worried with WW2 crazyness and all.
    IN YOUR FACE SERGIUS !!!!

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 22:19:43

    you know, Kujo, he said he had something he wanted to tell her in person…

    you reminded me of something I want to rant on… FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!!!

    now I’m regretting not to hear those words or even see them kiss 😦

    Reply

  4. Ryo-kun
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 04:06:14

    I think Kujou did surprisingly well for a last episode. At least i’ve lost about half of the hatred I had towards him. He didn’t shout, which is surprising. That would be so unpleasant for a final episode if he did that. Haha. But still, the absence of the three words annoyed me a little. Though I can’t deny the fact that it was such a beautiful last episode.

    Reply

  5. Ryo_kun
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 17:30:27

    It’s nice how Victorique had so much character development this episode. Also, Kujou too. If he shouted her name repeatedly on the way down the ship that would stupid. Glad he didn’t though. Haha. But the absence of the main three words kinda annoyed me. The ending is great nevertheless.

    Reply

  6. Tsuki
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 11:54:10

    And they lived Happily ever after.

    Quite frankly, I was expecting a more sad ending than the one we got. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the ending, but all the ending really did was prove that the prophecy wasn’t as serious as I thought it would be.

    I guess romance and happy ends triumph against evil prophecies of doom? =P

    Reply

  7. tsurugiarashix
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 12:04:52

    Another beautiful ending to a wonderful series.

    I was half-bored with the series through and well up to the falling action, but the last three episodes made a okay case for itself. Glad to see everything fell into place…

    Reply

  8. baka~
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 23:18:43

    @Ryo

    I do wish we get to hear those words

    @Tsuki

    I guess romance and happy ends triumph against evil prophecies of doom? =P

    I think this serves as gosick’s inconsistency. I mean, earlier cases involve deaths and avengers placed behind bars but having a happy ending did provide a change of pace, contradicting the entire dark atmosphere of the anime

    @Arashi

    if it didn’t then SOMEONE deserves to die for trolling us for 24 episodes 😡

    Reply

  9. AceVader0
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 22:59:09

    Maybe we’ll see a kissing scene in the BDs when they come out (which by the way, I can’t wait for). I really liked the entire series, and I also expected some kind of bad ending since we all saw and trusted that “evil prophecy of doom”. Instead, we got a happy ending without “those three words” or kissing, so it was like something in the middle to me. Between a really bad end and a really good one, so that disappointed me. I was expecting a better final episode, but looking at the entire series, it was definitely worth watching it. Is there any info about the BD’s release date?
    Greetings

    Reply

  10. baka~
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 23:04:28

    @Ace

    I don’t know but at this point, I’m not anymore interested. BD releases are nice and all but if i’ll wait for that one scene to happen, it’ll be like trolling myself. besides, waiting long for a series isn’t my kind of thing… ova perhaps but rewatching the same content again is a no go.

    Reply

  11. Old Crow
    May 09, 2012 @ 17:19:09

    Victorique’s hair is an example of “Marie Antoinette Syndrome,” a condition where a notable whitening of the hair happens as a result of overbearing stress. In the story, it marks the change/growth of Victorique in much the same way Sophie’s hair was used to the same symbolic effect in Howl’s Moving Castle.

    Symbolic details aside, this was a real gem of a show from a strong, strong 2011 season. While I still think Hanasaku no Iroha still retains my “favorite of 2011” accolade, Gosick is a close second.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

