Denpa Onna finale: Ascende Superius

I really don’t know if there really was an esper in this anime. They say it was Yashiro but I don’t really mind. Bordering on the unexplained or not, this anime has been a source of philosophical inspiration til the very end. More specifically, Yashiro’s motivating speech about humans having esper potential is pretty much intriguing yet basic in itself. While I was naively expecting telekinesis or whatshit, it was only until she explained that I realized what she was talking about.

Everyone of us have the potential to become espers: to move objects, to predict the future, to be at places that we can be, or to even create miracles, but we can’t do it on our own. Being an esper means walking a path that transcends others yet, coexisting with them. Like with how Niwa didn’t give a shit and cheered on Ryuuko. While I was ashamed of how he acted, with his voice echoing that gym, I also agreed with the dude that he was cool. It takes guts to stand out like that, to transcend, and at the same time, help others transcend.

I guess, realizing that Niwa likes to give up reminded me of myself. That I do not reach for greater heights because I am not cut out for it is pretty much the same way, the very reason why both Niwa and I are contented in our respective way of living. This episode reminded me that while there’s nothing wrong with it, there will always be a form of regret and hesitation engraved within our soul and sometimes, this prevents us from noticing the people who cheer, those who became our pillar of support.

I loved how they left everything hanging with this season when it comes to relationships. I honestly loved Maekawa’s girly side and I think she rivals Meme’s popularity in my book.

While Yashiro is still a mystery, I think i’ll be looking forward to see her more if a second season gets aired. Despite her antics, her philosophical viewpoint has been interesting and I do want to know if she truly is an esper.

More of enjoyment, I am really thankful for being able to watch Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko since this has influenced my life personally. Well, I may not be spiritually touched by the divine or the unexplained but watching this anime helped me find my way especially during moments when I doubt even my own potential to transcend.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. feal87
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 17:36:28

    Ryuuko blushing, what can you want more from the life?! That’s the pinnacle of the human race. *__*

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 22:27:57

    i’d root for Maekawa or Meme-san though XD

    Reply

  3. tomphile
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 23:58:42

    We definitely needed more Meme and Erio – though I suppose we got a lot of that already.

    Reply

  4. Tsuki
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 11:50:37

    I don’t know if this series went as far as influencing my life personally, but it was definitey a unique experience. I’ll miss seeing the crazy antics of Maekawa and Meme, or the cutesy stuff of Erio.

    I won’t miss Ryuushi, that’s for sure 😛

    Reply

  5. tsurugiarashix
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 11:59:12

    Watched it as soon as I got back home. It was a interesting ending to say the least, but think series had I entirely different message than it’s content. What that message was is still hovering in my mind. Hope the upcoming OVA will be nice…

    Reply

  6. baka~
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 23:13:13

    @Tsuki

    any reason why you won’t miss Ryushii?

    @Arashi

    can you share that message? I think it doesn’t matter how we interpret it personally but it is interesting looking at the message of this anime from a different perspective

    Reply

  7. abscissa
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 08:21:48

    I like how it ended so mundane yet executed really well. For me the whole Erio alien thing is actually about being alienated in the society and redemption or trying to get back. Then Yashiro is like the outsider who shows views that the insider can no longer see because they’re so used being insiders.

    I don’t know if I’m making sense but that’s how I find it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

