7O3X ch 7: There are no Gods in one’s own league


-sigh- translated chapters are slow as hell.

I don’t know how long this manga would run but this peculiar manga about quizzes surely got my interest. Resembling Kaminomi to an extent, 7O3X is a shounen battle manga focusing around quizzes. The concept sounds retarded and boring at first but for some reason, the quiz battles tenses me up. I never thought that there could be so many dynamics within a quiz show that they discussed within 7 chapters.

It’s not just the answers to the questions but the way of asking the questions, the diction and speech pattern, even the techniques of pressing the buzzer. The whole world of quizzes suddenly became thrilling, like a whole different ball game where the one who knows is the one praised by the audience: the cool guy, the badass, and the geek rolled in one; A contradiction and deviation from the weak, intellectual typecast shown in common shounen setting.

The protagonist starts off quite powerful. He’s simply a bookworm that knows a lot of things but with this manga’s setting, not because you know a lot guarantees you to be the victor in quizzes. When he’s pitted against his own league, against people who know the answers to the questions he ought to know, his knowledge becomes trivial and that fact gets to him. He becomes challenged. The boy who simply lives his life alone begins to experience a whole new sensation. A thrill that resonates his soul and in turn, resonates, catches the (my) reader’s attention.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tsurugiarashix
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 10:18:16

    Kemia clone spotted!
    I honestly never heard of this series, but it does look interesting both in art style and possibly (I hope) story. Keep me updated on this one, since I may check it out once I have time.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 22:52:48

    Well, releases are slow as hell but i’ll keep it posted. Unless the chapter was boring. I think Koshiyama is way out of Keima’s league considering how he lacks the confidence that Keima bears. But yeah, just like Kaminomi being a shounen battle anime, this quiz shounen setup is interesting XD

    Reply

  3. x
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 04:57:04

    This one seems a lot more serious than Kaminomi (which says more about Kaminomi than this manga I guess 😛 ). Not sure why, but it made me think of Iris Zero for some reason.

    This manga is published in a monthly magazine I think, so even if the translators speed up, I doubt it will make that much of a difference.

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 21:26:27

    Iris Zero is another good manga and I love its witty protagonist backed up with cliche romance flicks. Though, I can’t help but wonder any similarity this manga has with Iris Zero considering how the protagonist have yet to show his talent.

    Thanks for sharing about its release info. I guess i’ll painfully wait as this manga gets translated over a monthly basis. I do hope they don’t suddenly pull this out considering how much promise this manga holds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

