HanaIro ep 12: Protagonist Lost, Protagonist Found

Forgive me Kuuki since I know you're a Tohru fan but WHAT. A. DICK!!


Before anything else, let me have the luxury of saying that I enjoyed this episode because I saw Tohru jealous as hell!! FUCK YEAH!! TAKE THAT YOU DIPSHIT!!

Despite Ohana’s fail last episode, I did like how she realized so many things upon her return in Tokyo: How miserable she was in treating Ko and how she didn’t even try to understand her mother’s standpoint. It was an unexpectedly mature twist in this episode and coming from Ohana to boot but it simply reminded me why she’s awesome as the protagonist.

I also love and hate Minchi’s resolve in this episode. I realized that while I respect her way of accepting Tohru’s feelings for Ohana, I’m quite pissed by the fact that Minchi started this anime with an impression of how much strong her personality is yet when it comes to love, she totally turns tail. Where was that feisty aggression that she bore at Ohana during the first time they met? Why can’t she tap on it as she fights for Tohru’s affections?

Man, if there’s anything that I hate, it’s those tsundere princesses like these that can only bully the weak. Yeah, princesses like Izumo from Ao no Exorcist pretty much pisses me off and Minchi is no different, being all talk and all.

Lastly, I’m quite dismayed that Ko didn’t accompany Ohana back to Kissuiso. I would’ve been the ideal closure to Tohru’s feelings and, fancying fairy tail scenarios, impose on the viewers that long-distance relationships works… or some stuff like that (I don’t care about their relationship, I just wanted to 1-up Tohru!! YEAH!!).

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kuuki
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 00:09:48

    XDD
    It’s ok, I forgive you, you know, there’s a high chance that if you name a character hated by pretty much everyone, I love him/her/it, so I’m used to it.

    Can I take a moment to say how much I wanted to punch Minchi?
    I just hope she’ll change a bit.

    All in all, I’m definitely eagerly waiting for the next episode. THE meeting of the mother and the daughter after years of separation. Hopefully it’ll live up to my expectations.

    (Oh and amusingly enough you know what said Izumo in one of the recent chapter of the manga? That she despised people being only talk. ^^)

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 01:10:52

    I guess that by that time of the manga, Izumo grew her butt off and worked harder at not being a bitch. Going back, I’m expecting hell to run loose once their reunion takes place but more than that, I’m hoping some progression from Minchi next week. Man, her tsundere reputation is bad as it is and her doing nothing makes it worse X_X

    Reply

  3. Tsuki
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 11:40:14

    You really hate the idea of a Tohru x Ohana relationship, don’t you? Lol

    I actually think it’s rather mature on Minko’s part to notice Tohru’s odd acting around Ohana, and not be completely depressed or anything by it. She takes in the info she can without overreacting, and carefully observes the situation. Now I don’t know if she is going to try and change it at all, but as of now she obviously has her suspicions. Tohru isn’t being 100% obvious about his feelings though, which is where I guess Minko is placing her hopes.

    This may not be accurate on my part, but I’ve heard that In Japan being direct and headstrong (like Ohana) is at many times considered rather rude and disrespectful. Minko’s reaction would probably be more the more “natural” reaction in Japan.

    There are a lot of people out there that actually see Ohana as immature, which I can agree on. This arc in general really did a great job with developing her, and not to mention, add more perspective to her entire family situation. Not everything is pure black and white in the relationships of this series, and this arc did a great job at exemplifying that idea.

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 00:23:20

    I do like Minko’s game especially on how she acted calmly despite the situation but I kinda missed her arrogant side. The one that challenges Ohana, the very contrasting personality that establishes Minko as an annoying yet respectable character. Truth be told, I do hope her resolve to launch a counterattack and gain Tohru’s favor begins next episode. Not only will it save me from my rants against the Tohru x Ohana pairing but will remind me how annoyingly lovable Minko’s personality is.

    Reply

  5. abscissa
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 23:07:34

    You know my thoughts about Ohana x Tohru relationship. For me it’s okay as long as it’s a brotherly love. However, after seeing how big of a jerk Tohru is, I kind of wish Ko would exceed his limitations in terms of running after Ohana. But of course, we couldn’t ask for more from Ko, it’s Ohana who has problems. Anyways back to Tohru. He’s a jerk because he doesn’t know how to treat a girl right, regardless of how I don’t like Minko’s tsudere side, I think she deserves a good treatment especially from Tohru.

    Minko is starting to soften me because we start to see a gentle side of her. I kind of miss her annoying side though. ^^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

