AnoHana ep 8 & 9: Imprisoned by our own past


After neglecting to watch this series for two weeks (stress and work), I’m glad that the quality stayed intact, even delivering the emotional tension that I have missed in one sitting.

If there’s one thing that I liked about episode 8, it’s the realistic approach regarding people’s pains. Even after Yukiatsu was found out to be a trap, he was still bound by the hurt of losing Menma. In the episode, we finally get to see what’s been eating up Menma’s mom along with Anaru’s hurts and, surprisingly, the pain that the little brother Menma left behind.

I never really realized how influential Menma is not until I saw how she affected her brother. From his flashback, we can say that he looked up to her and her way of leaving him with an important task, in my opinion, is cruel. Menma bound her brother in a chain called “Responsibility” without even knowing it. On one side, I liked this authenticity; After all, we don’t know when the time would come when we’ll be at death’s door and seeing how realistic Menma’s last words to him are followed by her accident, I am stupefied. On another, this infuriates me or rather, Menma’s stupidity infuriates me which leads me to ranting…

Yes exactly Poppo! WHY THE FUCK DIDN'T MENMA DO THIS IN THE FIRST PLACE?!

But to their defense, this development DID make sense. After all, they seem to be wanting to grab the viewer’s attention with as much realism as possible. If they started the series with Menma, the friendly ghost, then I doubt people would even bother watching this anime so yeah, kudos for the dramatic transition to the creepy and supernatural. Man, good thing this anime isn’t anything like Tasogare x Otome Amnesia otherwise, I would’ve hid under my pillow

On another note, I was screaming “Oh Shit!!” while the character developments took place. From Anaru…

To Tsuruko… Well, ESPECIALLY with Tsuruko. The way I’m seeing it, if there’s someone getting more hurt because of this fiasco, it’s her. Not only was she dumped by Yukiatsu for Menma, he dumped her for Anaru! I won’t be surprised if she snaps and turned this anime into a nice boat.

The next time she does this, Anaru would breathe her last

I also got to understand where Yukiatsu is coming from for all his hatred of Jinta. I don’t know if he realized this yet but I think that Jinta’s monologue hits the mark perfectly.


I don’t know if it was their intention but having Jinta say these lines make him look conceited. For some reason, I suddenly had the urge to punch him in the face. Then again, I guess it must be painful for him too. He IS the leader of the gang and probably, having a sense of responsibility all the while, realizing their hurts, I guess Jinta sees himself to be powerless in that he can’t even share Menma to all of them. Have all of them see her and each receive their own form of salvation.

Lastly, it’s pretty much a tease but I liked how Poppo almost opened up in this episode. This makes me curious how much hurt he’s hiding beneath those smiles of his.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tsuki
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 23:09:52

    There are only two episodes left! I’m really hoping they can properly end this series in two episodes, though I fear that Tsuruko and Poppo may end up with less development than what I was hoping.

    This series is really good at intricately weaving together everybody’s feelings to create a believable conflict. It’s kind of funny how Menma revealing herself, in a way, caused even more problems than before. With her revealing herself, though, things will definitely accelerate, that’s for sure.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 23:57:17

    I fear that Tsuruko and Poppo may end up with less development than what I was hoping

    I hope this doesn’t happen. I’ve got a feeling that characters like Tsuruko and Poppo are the ones hurting the most because they are able to put up such a front before them. Who knows how much pain they’re enduring beneath those scowls/smiles?

    Reply

  3. Kuuki
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 02:46:40

    Usually it’s always the people with a front who hurts the most, they can’t release anything and it makes them hurt even more. It may be why Yukiatsu consciously, or incounsciously, goes toward Anaru, he may fear he’s not good enough for Tsuruko or that he’ll end up hurting her even more. Something like that.

    And the part about her brother teared me up, for real, again if I may say. (then again I cry at pretty much everything this season, even the strangest thing like Tiger&Bunny end up making me cry ^^)

    Reply

    • baka~
      Jun 13, 2011 @ 05:51:53

      Kuuki! WELCOME BACK! ;_;

      he may fear he’s not good enough for Tsuruko or that he’ll end up hurting her even more

      never thought of it this way but this does sound reasonable in that Tsuruko has been his companion ever since the gang broke up

      even the strangest thing like Tiger&Bunny end up making me cry

      it IS a good anime btw, a dark horse among this season’s anime

      Reply

      • Kuuki
        Jun 13, 2011 @ 22:45:29

        THANK YOU!

        Yup she has and he may be kinda scared to accept his feelings toward the people he loves the most.
        Honestly, Yukiatsu is the character who interests me the most in this anime.

  4. feal87
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 05:33:47

    The end is near (2 episodes) and the plot is nowhere to be complete, I smell problems…:|

    Reply

  5. tomphile
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 10:36:07

    Aaagh, I wanna know what Poppo has to say. They’ve been hiding his worries and concerns for so long, I think it’s about time they revealed everything about him.

    Reply

  6. Watch Anime
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 05:42:34

    I love Anohana one of my favorite shows, i completely agree with (tomphile) its due time they reveal everything about him…..

    Reply

  7. Ryo_kun
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 22:22:35

    Wow i’m surprised that Poppo actually has something serious to say. My guess is that he also like Menma. Too bad he immediately changed the topic. And I really wonder what Yukiatsu is up to. He’s so obsessed with Menma and yet he’s hitting on Anaru now.

    There are, however , two more episodes left. I have a feeling that it’s gonna be a very teary ending 😐

    Reply

  8. baka~
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 22:50:05

    Poppo’s cheery disposition is a good way of masking his true feelings which makes it more believable. As for Yukiatsu, even I can’t understand what’s going on in his head. Maybe he doesn’t see himself worthy of Tsuruko’s affections… or meh?

    Reply

  9. Trackback: AnoHana ep 10: Cruel Menma « BLOG: Where stupid ideas run wild!
  10. Lauren
    Jul 20, 2014 @ 04:51:19

    Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

