Oreimo ep 15: Best final episode, worst finishing touches


After reading the negative statements of this finale, I finally took the time to watch what the crap was all about.

Being a finale, I think this episode was decent enough. It covered every issue regarding Kirino’s “disappearance” and placed a temporary closure on Ruri’s issues. As the credits rolled, I got to see the infamous jumping finishing touches and boy, I wondered what the fuck the animators were thinking adding that crap to ruin the good ending song. How the heck can they ruin the episode at the last second?

W-H-A-T-T-H-E-F-U-C-K?!

But whatever, again, I believe that this is the best finale that Oreimo can be given with; leaving a good enough closure for the issues at hand yet neglecting to resolve the romantic issues among the characters which may be the entire focus of a second season.

That aside, hearing Ayana Taketatsu as Kirino reminded me of how godly she is with her role. While I remember her recently for taking up Ayumi in Kaminomi, her personality as Kirino very much makes her stand out. I honestly admire her talent as a seiyuu and I hope she gets to land in more ground-breaking roles.

Best brocon ever!!!

Looking back, Oreimo s1 has been a fun series with a lot of characters or rather, imoutos to choose from, mixing and matching the viewer’s wincest experience. The cast was solid through and through and they complement so damn well the characters that they are portraying. Being spoiled by Seanver’s oreimo light novel summaries, I do hope the animators would cook something up for a second season in the future though, I hope they’d avoid unnecessary shit like the lame-assed jump in this episode.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tomphile
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 13:54:15

    Ayana was the seiyuu for Ayumi from Kami Nomi? I had no idea. Either way, I definitely liked her better as Ayumi. >:)

    The ending was solid I think, not anything too groundbreaking. At least the viewers can walk away satisfied.

    Reply

  2. Keiri
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 17:00:53

    On the whole, I did think this was a good episode in terms of answering questions related to Kirino’s absence and neatly wrapping up Season 1 although there were a couple of parts which didn’t feel…well handled to me. I watched this without reading other viewers’ opinions beforehand so my thoughts here are my own first impression of the episode. The main issue I had was regarding the restraint Kirino set for herself. Even though she is the type of all-around achiever who sets really high goals to challenge and motivate herself, the restriction she imposed on her freedom seemed silly to say the least; a decision that sounded as though it was impulsively made without thinking things through. I mean, completely cutting herself off from her family and friends until she could beat another athlete in a time trial? To paraphrase Kyousuke’s words, that was just harsh on an extreme level because that kind of move will obviously cause others to *needlessly* worry sick about her. To make it worse, she knew it would make them worry sick. I prefer it if it was a scenario of Kirino refusing to talk to her family and friends because she was simply miserable (e.g. from uncontrollable problems involving her coach and peers, or even culture shock) and she didn’t want people back home to prod and fuss over her about it (due to her typical arrogance and stubbornness) for example. But in this case, this misery was brought about by her own decision and her form appeared to have deteriorated as a consequence of it. Either Kirino was way too confident in her ability to impose a restriction like that or she was merely too naïve and spontaneous. I don’t know if this plot device was the writer’s deliberate and convenient way of highlighting those traits of hers but the drama felt somewhat forced and contrived without well planned substance behind it. It also didn’t help that her issue wasn’t followed up properly and she went home on the conclusive note that Kyousuke said he didn’t care about her problems and he was just lonely without her (although we do know that underneath, he probably did genuinely take her problems and well-being into account, and his outburst could be interpreted as a partial feint to get Kirino to change her mind). Oh well, I’m pretty sure it’s only my usual dull sense of empathy which is preventing me from understanding and appreciating that development.

    Anyway aside from that particular petty gripe, I did like this episode for what it is and that is a smoothly executed finale which gave us a proper end to Season 1. It wasn’t anything remarkably fantastic but it left us with good lasting memories of the series and more importantly, anticipation for a possible second season. Hopefully we won’t have to wait too long for it if it comes true.

    PS. Yeah, lame-ass jump was lame-ass. Geh, the cheesiness of it all. >_<

    PPS. Now that Season 1 has ended, my only hope is they won’t end the radio show anytime soon as well. Ayanyan x Kanatan’s yuri yuri talk and adventures are one of the best things that came out of the OreImo franchise imho ♥♥♥♥♥. XD

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 00:34:34

    But in this case, this misery was brought about by her own decision and her form appeared to have deteriorated as a consequence of it. Either Kirino was way too confident in her ability to impose a restriction like that or she was merely too naïve and spontaneous.

    I find it ironic how she mentions that unless she lets go of her hobbies/trophies, she’d always become dependent (on them) considering that’s what she’s been fighting for ever since. Even Kyousuke reasoned it out with their father that Kirino’s hobbies and trophies is what makes her as she is yet this one scene destroyed the belief that Kyousuke fought so hard for. Looking back, this IS a frustrating scene. The drama is good but the logic is totally bullshit X_X

    It also didn’t help that her issue wasn’t followed up properly and she went home on the conclusive note that Kyousuke said he didn’t care about her problems and he was just lonely without her

    I think this is just Kyousuke’s selfishness convincing Kirino. If she IS a brocon, then hearing her brother become so possessive might’ve convinced her to change her mind and come home with him… or maybe i’m putting words in their mouths =/

    Ayanyan x Kanatan’s yuri yuri talk and adventures are one of the best things that came out of the OreImo franchise imho ♥♥♥♥♥. XD

    While I am ENVIOUS of how you indulge yourself with such an experience, the only news that I had about the radio show came from this

    off-topic:

    thanks for sharing those Ai Kayano pics in your soup… looking at her makes my nose bleed (lolicon!) orz

    Reply

  4. Keiri
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 13:20:49

    I find it ironic how she mentions that unless she lets go of her hobbies/trophies, she’d always become dependent (on them) considering that’s what she’s been fighting for ever since. Even Kyousuke reasoned it out with their father that Kirino’s hobbies and trophies is what makes her as she is yet this one scene destroyed the belief that Kyousuke fought so hard for.

    THIS exactly. It also reminded me of the heated exchange she had with Ayase where she personally told Ayase her hobbies are a part of her and she will never give up on them because doing so would be the same as giving up on herself. Her collection could almost be seen as a source of her individuality and strength because she gets joy from them. I don’t understand how it suddenly became a weakness to her when she didn’t make any direct connection between her collection and her failure to beat someone in a time trial. There was no concrete explanation on how her dependence caused her to perform sub-par. It’s not like she was playing eroge late into the night and that jeopardized her health and athletic abilities or something. I haven’t read the light novels before but I wonder whether this development is canon or just the studio’s Anime original method of conveniently bringing Kirino back into the story. :s

    While I am ENVIOUS of how you indulge yourself with such an experience, the only news that I had about the radio show came from this

    I did some searching and found out that Ambi does reviews of the OreImo radio show so you might want to have a look at them here. 😉

    The show is now in its 21st episode and if anything, the yuri yuri between Ayana x Kana has escalated and Kana is becoming more and more of a pervert as the days goes by. I’m tempted to think she was influenced by Imai Asami throughout all of their recordings for Steins Gate. Them two were partners-in-crime in quite a few mentioned “incidents” lol.

    thanks for sharing those Ai Kayano pics in your soup… looking at her makes my nose bleed (lolicon!) orz

    Ah but I’m sure you know that Kayano’s real voice is rather mature, refined and ladylike, right? 😉
    http://www.nicovideo.jp/watch/sm14521865

    Kindly do not click on this if you wish to retain your Menma dreams. XD

    Reply

  5. baka~
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 14:49:22

    I did some searching and found out that Ambi does reviews of the OreImo radio show so you might want to have a look at them here.

    This is a treasure trove!! Damn! need to finish my anime marathon in order to leisurely enjoy this!

    Ah but I’m sure you know that Kayano’s real voice is rather mature, refined and ladylike, right?

    I only read how mature her voice is but for some reason, she reminds me of Hayami Saori =/ I was expecting she’d have a crazy side of sorts, probably bordering on yuri and whatnot… and I guess i’m just a pervert… orz

    but at any rate, it’s quite impressive how her range varies; voicing menma and how her real voice is, i’m seeing potential (hope I get to hear more from her this summer) XD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

