AnoHana ep 6: Menma’s wish


I think this episode is a setup of the things to come, more specifically, something related to Menma’s wish that’s most probably realized by Tsuruko and Yukiatsu as well as the retrieval of Menma’s diary. Judging from the title, of the anime, I think the reason why Menma invited the group that day may probably have something to do with naming a flower that the group saw and, stretching my imagination too far, they’ll probably name it Menma…

And the hero comes along...

Anaru getting all flustered is the best thing that I could consider as fanservice!!

…My bullshit aside, with Jinta becoming Anaru’s knight in shining armor, it seems that their relationship finally got better. Well, since Menma IS out of the picture, I’m finding the Anaru x Jinta pair to be quite a cute couple. On the other hand, I find Tsuruko and Yukiatsu’s pairing to be a bit creepy. It’s really hard to tell how close they are when one acts like an arrogant, narcissistic bastard while the other acts like some cold, blackmailing bitch. Well, their personalities are much alike and that makes them a good pair, but for some reason, it really creeps me out.

Even though I don't question people's standards of being normal, I think these two being paired up together contributes to an abnormality of sorts

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. feal87
    May 22, 2011 @ 01:25:49

    Oh, hell your idea makes sense, now I am scared of continuing to watch this series…:|

    Reply

  2. baka~
    May 22, 2011 @ 01:32:39

    Scared? Idea? you talking about the Tsuruko x Yukiatsu pairing? if it is then you should be scared as hell as I can’t imagine how much of a creepy scenario it would become if they get together and started a family.

    Reply

  3. feal87
    May 22, 2011 @ 01:52:40

    “Judging from the title, of the anime, I think the reason why Menma invited the group that day may probably have something to do with naming a flower that the group saw and, stretching my imagination too far, they’ll probably name it Menma…”

    Was talking about this, but what you mentioned is scary as well…:P

    Reply

  4. Adol
    May 22, 2011 @ 05:57:08

    Well, am I the only one who did not ruled out yet any JitanxMenma ending? After all, we may have some slight clues about it: what about the strange nosebleeding? It could hide a brain tumor which make Jintan able to see ghost or hallucination (whether you think Menma is a ghost or an hallucination) and his desire to fullfil Menma’s wish would just be the incarnation of his guilt about her death. Then, as the leader of the band, he tries to reunite everybody around Menma…but in fact gather them around himself just before dying and being reunited with Menma.

    Still a possibility isn’t?
    ps: by the way, the name of the flower is “Forget-me-not” (check on wikipedia), any hidden meaning?

    Reply

  5. abscissa
    May 22, 2011 @ 06:44:32

    “Even though I don’t question people’s standards of being normal, I think these two being paired up together contributes to an abnormality of sorts.”

    Haha I like that. I think the abnormality is due to their over-sized brains and egos.

    Reply

  6. baka~
    May 22, 2011 @ 13:51:31

    @feal

    don’t mind that, speculah is still speculah.. there’s a pretty good chance it’ll be gunned down when everything is revealed

    @Adol

    If Gen Urobuchi tampered with the script then your scenario would’ve been most likely… About the flower, If it translates to anywhere close to Menma or Honma Meiko then that’s a sign

    @abscissa

    not to forget, their respective fetishes (Yukiatsu likes to crossdress, Tsuruko… likes to imitate Menma?)

    Reply

  7. Ryo_kun
    May 22, 2011 @ 22:54:07

    Looks like Jinta finally man-ed up this episode. It was very sweet of him to cover up for Anaru like that. I also think that they’d make a very cute couple together. Oh, interesting idea about the flower there.

    Reply

  8. Tsuki
    May 22, 2011 @ 22:56:56

    “I find Tsuruko and Yukiatsu’s pairing to be a bit creepy.”

    I find it kind of surprising that you feel that way.

    I feel as if Tsuruko and Yukiatsu have a very thorough understanding of each other, which is why they can talk to each other in the manner that they do. There is a bit of a “bite” to some of their comments (especially Tsuruko), but they obviously wouldn’t be able to casually talk with each other in such a rude manner unless they themselves were fine with it.

    I guess I feel it’s more “you can be truly honest with your true friends” idea. Maybe not a love pairing, but certainly very good friends.

    Reply

  9. baka~
    May 22, 2011 @ 23:40:58

    @ tsuki

    I didn’t mean creepy in a negative way but their relationship emits an aura of tension. True, they are close enough to address each other casually but two people giving off the “high and mighty” vibes just gives me the creeps

    Reply

Leave a Reply

