HanaIro ep 7: Because we truly shine when we’re having fun

I never could've said it better


Continuing from the business mindset established last episode, we get to see how veterans like Tomoe have it hard when it comes to their line of work. Not to mention, understanding more of her personality and personal issues as she finds herself pressured by her mother to marriage.

Now I am really not the type to share much about my life but having seen this episode, watching how Tomoe lives her life and her issues, I am reminded of my own. While we both share the same motherly woes of being pressured to marriage (a topic I am not fond of discussing without reasoning out lengthily why I prefer to be alone), I guess what appeals most to me would be her work-related realization. This is actually no different from last episode’s post save for the fact that we take the whole business setup from a veteran’s point of view, in this case, Tomoe.

Both Ohana and Tomoe’s point of view have been inspiring. In Ohana’s case, it’s more of what she can do to help Kissuiso. In Tomoe’s case, it’s more of revitalizing herself by realizing what she has been doing. Two episodes covering a perspective from two generations of motivation and dedication for work and I have to say that I am impressed with this level of maturity from HanaIro.

Personally, watching this episode after a hard day’s work is refreshing. I wonder if after a few years from now, of being a game developer, I can look back and ask to myself “Do I still feel alive, alive and stressed out yet fulfilled, in my line of work?”

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nopy
    May 19, 2011 @ 12:59:35

    I thought Hanasaku Iroha was going to be all about teenage girls and their teen troubles, so I was glad to see one of the other characters take center stage in this episode. Tomoe has bumped up Hanasaku Iroha a few points for me.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    May 19, 2011 @ 20:29:38

    I guess the environment of HanaIro where the young works well with veterans is a unique experience in itself. It’s somewhat like the gag anime Working! minus the comedy

    Reply

  3. Keiri
    May 19, 2011 @ 22:56:47

    ^
    If only all workplaces have a fun environment where some seniors actually work well with their juniors. XD

    This episode further reinforced why Tomoe is still sticking as my favorite character. She might have been aiming to get herself kicked out of her job behind the scenes but I love how she still looks out for Ohana and Nako’s future, and decided to go all out on her job instead of abandoning her juniors just like that (even if everything Tomoe did wasn’t meant to teach them the proper way of doing their job lol). And this goes without saying that her warfare tactics were of course awsm. “OK BABY, GET SOME!!” XD

    Both Ohana and Tomoe’s point of view have been inspiring. In Ohana’s case, it’s more of what she can do to help Kissuiso. In Tomoe’s case, it’s more of revitalizing herself by realizing what she has been doing. Two episodes covering a perspective from two generations of motivation and dedication for work and I have to say that I am impressed with this level of maturity from HanaIro.

    I guess part of why HanaIro’s slice-of-life setting hooks me again and again is the way it delivers lessons through a mixture of serious and lighthearted events instead of simply having the characters preach about life outright (and believe me, we’ve had plenty of those, enough to make wax flow out of our ears). The scenarios in the show may not appear realistic but it’s nice how they make us contemplate on our own life based on the subtle similarities we share with the characters. And if the characters are appealing enough to make us identify ourselves with them, then the story could very well have a strong cast indeed (at least from the slice-of-live perspective).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

