DenpaOnna ep 5: Fanservice with content

DOUBLE

KILL


Watching Denpa Onna has been taxing for me. It’s hard as it is to maintain sanity just by watching the cute character designs but the real content of this anime to be at par with the animation’s execution is exacting a lot of emotions from me.

HNNNGGGGGGGG!!!!

For one, Meme and Erio’s double twintails combo is simply not what I was expecting. I admit that I’m a lolicon who loves twintails so it’s a given that Erio would set up any moe flags but for me to stamp Meme-san a whopping seal of approval, there’s definitely something wrong with this anime to mess up with my preferences! (nah, it’s actually my mind that’s messed up). Being reminded of MkMiku’s post I have yet to see a 40 y/o 3d individual wearing twintails but if she has Meme-san’s smooth and silky skin (as she puts it) and twintails looks good on her then I don’t mind (still prefer lolis though).

Screw age! THIS IS ANIME!!

This dangerous angle compels me to fish up H-Doujins... One of these days...

Second, Meme surprised me again in this episode. Sure, she’s been giving me eye-candy to salivate at for nearly 20 minutes of this anime but when she gets serious, even for a moment, it amazes me. It’s obvious that Meme is a slut but as a mother, she rarely shows her concern for her daughter but once she does, you can tell how much she cares for Erio. It must be hard for someone like her to be goofy and all knowing how much shit she had to endure just to keep her daughter safe as well as ensuring her daughter’s future. In all honesty, it is during the brief moments when Meme-san takes on her responsibility as a mother that she dazzles the most.

And watching this scene gave me a 1 hit KO

Lastly, the episode itself focused on Erio’s motivation in taking the first step of returning back to society and being gunned almost immediately. This is frustrating! I had my fare share of dismay recalling how hard I struggled to pass an interview but for Erio to be shot down immediately because of how she was before, without giving her the chance to redeem herself is fucking horrible! Companies have their interests to protect and it is a big risk for them to entrust it to a mentally whacked individual so it is reasonable for Erio to be turned down. But for a moment there, during Erio’s dismay, I was deeply hurt and agitated. Reflecting on how hard reality bites, I really can’t help but get unreasonably pissed off at how they turned her down because of her background. Good thing Erio had a place to work now and hopefully, her time with her work would help her improve, regaining back her will to face society.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. @fkeroge
    May 15, 2011 @ 22:31:03

    Actually, this was one of the anime that had me wondering where it would go. But thanks to this post, I got my answer. I was THIS close to dropping it, but thanks to this enlightening post, I think I’ll be sticking to it until the end.

    My hat’s off to you for noticing the societal issues in this anime and Meme’s deep and vibrant character.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    May 15, 2011 @ 23:15:59

    Well, even I am unsure how to take this series. It has its moments of seriousness only clouded by its delishuz amounts of fanservice so it’s really hard to say if DenpaOnna is meant for srzbzns or just eye-candy. Glad that I was able to change your mind 😀

    Reply

  3. abscissa
    May 18, 2011 @ 06:52:21

    I have similar feelings for Erio as she tries to integrate herself once again to the society. I kind feel sorry and sad for her, all blame should go to Meme because of her incapacity to raise a child. Actually I laugh at her jokes, but I’m not really fond of her character–although undeniable that she creates good positive tension in the story.

    Reply

  4. Tsuki
    May 18, 2011 @ 11:22:38

    I really think Meme’s issue is that she is not used to acting like a mother, because she hasn’t been doing so for a long time (or so that’s the impression I’m getting here). She cares for her, but is unsure of how to act as a mother, which is why she acts so silly to try and hide her worries.

    Then again, this could just be me overthinking things. It wouldn’t be the first time ヽ(´ー`)┌

    Reply

  5. baka~
    May 18, 2011 @ 23:00:36

    Well, I think Meme represents best those people who engage in sexual relationships without any preparation of being a parent. From a perspective, just knowing how messed up Meme’s life can be when it comes to her obligations and responsibilities is enough for us to learn something from her. Besides, I may be putting words in my mouth but I guess that Meme’s front of acting perverted and giddy is only to conceal her frustrations and failures as a parent.

    One noticeable hint of this was during episode 3… (was it?) where she confronted Niwa to warn him to get away from Erio. Niwa mentioned to her that “she must be the one feeling alone” which prompted her to show a surprised, more of horrified, expression on her face implying that perhaps, living as a single parent is hard as it is. And for her daughter to go whack in the head turned out to be much worse for her.

    Besides, if we’ll compare Meme-san’s situation with most western single moms shown in a tv series, Nene’s positive attitude is a refreshing take on the topic of single parenting. Most western characters that represent such moms are totally pissy people… orz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

