HanaIro ep 6: The passion for work



To be honest, I was fearing for this anime’s future. Ever since last episode, I am seeing this series’ direction to be falling back to the typical slice of life trend which is very predictable, very linear, so I was surprised for this episode to spice things up a bit.

It's not just the dresses mind you

One of the things that caught my attention in this episode was how this portrays a youth’s transition from her individualistic life to her impact in the organization she belongs to. Being past my 20’s, this episode made me remember my naivety during the times when I still studied in college. Back then, I simply shrugged off the notions of working for a company and contributing to the company. It’s easy to understand other people’s stories but until you actually get to work full-time for a company, you can never understand how to motivate yourself in order to help improve the organization. That’s why I find Ohana’s gusto quite refreshing. Whether she’s motivated by money, the need for a place to stay to, or simply how she came to fall in-love with Kissuiso, Ohana certainly appealed to me, impressing me with her dedication in this episode.

Man, looking back, the first thing that I did with my money was by a Kirino Nendoroid... Then saved the rest in the bank 😀

Let’s also not forget Ohana’s uncle, Enishi. Honestly, I was assuming that the reason why he’s after that consultant was because he has feelings for her but I guess I was mistaken especially after he reveals his intentions.

True, his strategy is reckless, he is despairing after all, and his intentions are bringing harm instead of good but still, those are pure intentions, one coming from his heart. There may be no miracles in real life and perhaps, even none in this anime, but even so, I find it refreshing, rewarding rather, to have his dedication revitalized and his mindset motivated by comments of satisfied customers who saw the uniforms worn previously by Sui-obachan.

Lastly, I’m not liking this development of Tohru becoming more obvious for his feelings. Minko is not as dense as Ohana to notice how her crush has his sights on another woman so I’m fearing how much shit this may turn out as the episodes progress. As a refresher though, at least he didn’t pick on anybody today so I guess it’s nice, even once in a while, to not hear his bitching.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Keiri
    May 14, 2011 @ 00:53:41

    As silly as it may sound, watching Ohana’s attitude in this episode gave me a nice kick in the rear in reminding me about the value of an individual’s role in their workplace and whether their contributions help the company in any way. Do we care how our efforts affect the company regardless of how significant/insignificant we are? Is it just about money at the end of the day? Can we change things if we put our hearts and minds into challenging ourselves every now and then like Ohana did? The one thing I really liked about what was portrayed in this installment was Ohana’s willingness and approach to bring change to the inn and this in turn ended up altering the atmosphere and dynamics in her workplace, particularly her relationship with her colleagues. Sure, it may be unrealistic to adopt her attitude but it does make you wonder… Things can change if you motivate yourself enough, whether it’s suggesting a daring business proposal to your boss, projecting an image that inspires others at your workplace or even trying to get along with those colleagues you’re on bad terms with, all of which Ohana has done in the series so far. And for these, I’m fine with HanaIro staying the way it is as long as it continues to explore issues like these through their characters. 😀

    Now touching on another subject, Nako is steadily climbing up the ladder of my faves list after the events in this episode. I love that OTT bashfulness of hers, and it’s always a treat to see her malfunction whenever things blow over. I guess Ainama’s fantastic performance is also a huge part of the reason why I’ve grown to become so fond of Nako. Her “Mou, iyaa!!” was ♥♥♥. XD

    As for Tohru falling for Ohana… Oh man… This is going to become really, reeeally complicated. >.>

    Reply

  2. Ryo_kun
    May 14, 2011 @ 19:21:29

    I also think that Tohru is a bit TOO obvious with his feeling towards Ohana. He gave me a vibe of someone who would admire and approach his crush secretly. And when it’s about time, he’d pull out an epic confession. Yeah, that’s how I imagine him to be but oh well. Still, it doesn’t change the fact that I hate his bitching though.

    Other than being a typical slice of life show, notice too that there was very little development this episode. Not quite impressed there.

    Reply

  3. baka~
    May 14, 2011 @ 19:55:05

    Well, I wouldn’t say that this episode did have little development. If anything, it did contribute to Ohana being able to soften Sui-obachan’s attitude towards her and Enishi seeing his sister in Ohana. Well, no major development when it comes to Ohana and her age group but she did have a major plus points towards her ‘family’.

    And Tohru sucks! when will Ko enter the scene?

    Reply

  4. Nopy
    May 16, 2011 @ 07:13:42

    I’m also a bit disappointed in the slice-of-life path that Hanairo has decided to take. I’m clinging onto the idea that it’ll revert back to something like episode 1 near the end of the series.

    I remember when I first started working a full-time job. I put in my best effort and did whatever I could to help. My motivation dropped a bit after that, but when I realized that anything I did to help improve things would eventually lead to more benefits for me, I got right back to it.

    Reply

  5. baka~
    May 16, 2011 @ 22:48:05

    after this episode, I think HanaIro’s development was a bit shakey. Have yet to see the latest episode to comment on this anime’s direction.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

