Denpa Onna ep 4: Food for thought


Man, I wonder when I’ll tire myself of saying “I love this episode”. It’s as if every anime after Madoka just stepped up their game. Well, considering that most fans were despairing for the anime industry’s future since the start of last season, with I-shit-hara pulling the strings and all, it’s really nice to be able to enjoy quality anime.

Now as for this episode in particular, I admit that aside from enjoying the delicious animation and hearing Ai Nonaka’s persuasive, womanly charms, I find myself looking forward to Niwa’s thoughts for philosophical sustenance. Unlike most protagonists who live their life spouting a ton of unreasonable bull (i.e. Kamijo Touma, Naruto) it’s rare to encounter one protagonist who explains everything as they see it (There’s Katsuragi Keima and Koyomi Araragi though). The one thing that I like, in particular, with Niwa’s monologues is how the concept is feasible and easy to understand such as this scene from the previous episode.

Niwa understands that people need to rely on an escape mechanism from time to time. It is human nature to do so after all. There’s nothing wrong with that, more so, to be ashamed of but there should be limitations. There should be limits to one’s delusional world. It’s as if saying, take your mind off the world of hurt but keep your feet firmly on the ground. And with that, I came to like more of his reasoning.

For someone who decided to run off a cliff on a bike with his cousin, this merely reflects Niwa’s strength of will. Well, he has the guts to support his way of living his life so I guess, at this point, this trait makes him more believable. I would’ve doubted these words if he said it without even proving anything but since he was able to save Erio and bring her back to reality, I really can’t help but simply be amazed at this guy.

In the end, despite the feeling of this anime’s seriousness, I cannot bring myself to look at it… seriously. Perhaps, I am still awestruck with how they managed to blend the philosophical with light-hearted themes. Taking C for instance, the anime about money also provides good philosophical insight when it comes to the impact of money in society and since there’s action to back it up, I see the anime with every spec of curiosity and intensity yet when I watch this anime, not only do I feel relaxed but this also raises thoughts and topics to ponder on. How to put it, it’s as if Denpa Onna is a spicy food meant to enjoy but still delivers wonders to your senses.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. feal87
    May 08, 2011 @ 03:10:04

    Agree with most part of your post, especially the

    “I see the anime with every spec of curiosity and intensity yet when I watch this anime, not only do I feel relaxed but this also raises thoughts and topics to ponder on”

    Ryuuko is criminally cute, admit it. 😀

    Reply

  2. baka~
    May 08, 2011 @ 09:19:43

    While I do admit that all of them are cute (I didn’t deny it in the first place XD ) I think your fondness for Ryuuko stems from the fact that her seiyuu voiced Kyubey… pff XD

    Reply

    • feal87
      May 08, 2011 @ 14:37:57

      She’s extremely cute, beautiful, has a good personality and has a wonderful voice that can make people be MAGICAL. What can you want more?! :]

      Reply

      • baka~
        May 08, 2011 @ 14:57:07

        Surprisingly I’m rooting for Meme-san since I love her adult antics but Ryuuko does pull a respectable set of antics on her own… That aside, I still believe you’re rooting for her because she voiced kyubey 😀

  3. Nopy
    May 08, 2011 @ 13:51:10

    I don’t think it’s too hard to look at this anime seriously, all you have to do is consider that they probably show some things from Erio’s point of view without telling you.

    Reply

  4. baka~
    May 08, 2011 @ 14:40:29

    except for the fact that whenever I look at Erio or any of the female characters, I find it hard to take everything seriously… their cuteness defies reason but well, since Niwa IS doing the narration, he would be considered as the reason of this anime itself. The reason amidst the distraction known as moe 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

