HanaIro ep 5: Misunderstandings are always amusing


With how everything went last episode, I was expecting Ohana and Minko to be on better terms after these events so there’s no surprises there. What I am surprised about was how they actually believed Jiroumaru in his conclusion of Tohru leaving to join the rival establishment. Not to put him off but considering his past record, I was expecting everyone to still see him negatively. I guess it only shows how kind the people of Kissuiso are despite their scary expressions.

amusing assholes always try to act GAR yet ends up having their image ruined by the end of the episode

Back to the episode, I seriously found myself giggling during the scene where Ohana charged at their rival’s establishment, blaming them for how they stole Tohru only to be corrected with how it was a misunderstanding. What’s more surprising was how her grandmother seem to have let this incident slip. I mean, Ohana barged in there wearing Kissuiso’s uniform with people and the staff of Fukuya staring at her as she made a ruckus so I was expecting the old lady to go give her granddaughter some beating. I was surprised with how she seem to shrug the issue off. I guess Ohana’s meddling with Jirou’s affairs softened her a little.

I was expecting her to add:'... and bring Ohana so I may reprimand her'

It’s already episode 5 and we’re seeing the true colors of the people at Kissuiso.. Well, not all of them, but at least it’s good to know that despite the impression that episode 1 left, where I actually thought that Ohana’s life would be hell, HanaIro have turned out to be something more of a common slice-of-life anime that surprisingly, still grabs my attention. I guess the fact that Kanae Itou’s role as Ohana delivers the goodness of this anime in that her character has been very believable so far. Even her assault on Fukuya, as reckless and impudent as it may be, is worthy of praise and admiration.

Props for showing some balls (figuratively) but man, I can't help but giggle at how Ohana fucked this up

Surprisingly realizing, I’m enjoying the fact that every character of this small-inn setting have been striving hard for their dreams. Ohana aside, I see Minko in a kinder light now (I still hate her guts though) after I have seen how she pushed through her dream despite her parents being against it and seeing how Tohru became supportive of her because of her mindset (I’ll forgive him for this episode only), it made me feel that every character have yet to reveal a depth within them and that I am looking forward to how the next episodes would venture on their personalities and how they harmoniously work with each other in this setting.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ryo_kun
    May 06, 2011 @ 02:41:34

    After seeing this episode, I’m starting to like Tohru as well. Never thought that he can be very nice sometimes as he gave me an impression of a person with a sharp tongue ever since the first episode. Glad that Ohana was able to make up with Minko too. xD

    Overall a very nice episode. Really looking forward to the next one.

    Reply

  2. Kuuki
    May 06, 2011 @ 19:57:50

    I hate more Minko’s voice than her guts actually ^^

    And, as strange as it may seem, I loved Tohru since the first episode, just like him even more now.

    Reply

  3. baka~
    May 06, 2011 @ 22:15:37

    @Ryo

    I still hate Tohru’s attitude but I do commend his dedication for his craft as well as his loyalty for Kissuiso

    @Kuuki

    well, to each their own preferences but I do agree with Minko’s annoying voice which I simply shrug off now considering how I trained myself with Omigawa;s voice as P-Ko in Arakawa

    Reply

  4. Itachi
    May 07, 2011 @ 00:33:16

    It gives me a chill when Ohana barge into Fukuya. She attacks fiercely without knowing the true incident. Love that scene >.<
    Tohru, I never like him up until now.

    This drama-anime never fail to amuse me so far… ^ ^

    Reply

    • baka~
      May 07, 2011 @ 12:22:58

      I guess, Ohana reminds us of shounen lead characters who go all-out and do what they think is right that’s why. despite her recklessness, we can’t help but admire Ohana’s courage 😀

      Reply

  5. feal87
    May 07, 2011 @ 04:52:19

    Ahhhhh, give me a Ryuuki and an Erio!!!! (i’m hijacking the thread. :D)

    Reply

  6. baka~
    May 07, 2011 @ 11:55:09

    @feal

    the hell you are! wait… Ryuuki who?

    Reply

  7. feal87
    May 07, 2011 @ 14:52:44

    Talking about Ryuuko, a typo…:D

    Reply

  8. Keiri
    May 09, 2011 @ 01:42:12

    Based on how the previous episode ended, I was somewhat expecting them to explore the possible issue of Minko feeling jealous about Yuina hitching a ride with Tohru, not about Tohru leaving Kissuiso for Fukuya. It left me a little disappointed that the misunderstanding completely detoured from the romance angle…or was that closing scene intended to be deliberately deceptive? Oh well, whatever works for this episode’s plotline I guess. Perhaps it’s still a little too early for them to be touching on romance dorama? XD

    And yes, definitely loved the scene where Ohana barged into Fukuya and just let her tongue rip wrt how she felt about them “stealing” Tohru. Heh, gotta admire her shameless guts though. As embarrassing as Ohana may be whenever she voices her opinions and takes action in the midst of a misunderstanding, I can’t help but feel she’s the kind of friend I would really love to have. The kind of friend who would go to great lengths to defend your interests and “fight” on your behalf if you’re too emotionally unprepared to take your own stand on matters. Nice to see Minko realizing this and that she has warmed up to Ohana. It’s amusing how she was even indirectly inspired to become more bold like Ohana is should the need arise to prevent Tohru from leaving Kissuiso. And yeah, I suppose him granting Minko an open pathway to her dream was a good enough reason why she developed a crush on him.

    Overall, great episode even though my ears bled for one third of it. And speaking of which, I think there’s something wrong if I find Omigawd’s other skills more interesting than what she’s supposed to be good at job-wise lol.

    Reply

  9. baka~
    May 09, 2011 @ 22:33:13

    The kind of friend who would go to great lengths to defend your interests and “fight” on your behalf if you’re too emotionally unprepared to take your own stand on matters

    If this were more of shounen/shoujo anime then Ohana might grab the GAR title. But true, it’s rare nowadays to have a friend who would be the first to grab your hand and lead your way. They may be meddlesome, true, but at least, you know that they care about you.

    I think there’s something wrong if I find Omigawd’s other skills more interesting than what she’s supposed to be good at job-wise lol

    whoah wait! this voice is Omigawa?! what the f-… it sounds out of league with her acting voice… and uh… well, the video just triggered my lolicon fantasies… damn it Keiri!! *nosebleeds*

    Reply

  10. Yi
    May 11, 2011 @ 16:27:41

    Ohana made me smile too with her baseless accusations. ^ ^
    And so did Yuina for taking it so well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

