AnoHana ep 2: The good ol days


I think that one of the merits of this anime is the nostalgia factor that it induces on the viewers. From a perspective, this episode reflects how far the characters have changed yet, as if they didn’t change at all. The personalities that they have are still there and somehow, it appeals to me since I see myself in them.

Heading back to the topic of nostalgia, I find it very much convincing of how they emphasized a day of doing nothing but play pokemon nokemon could be so important. Back in thge days, (my) friends and classmates would often challenge each other to play card games. For us, it was a daily event. It was nothing out of the ordinary. It wasn;t that special. Thinking about it now, as I write this post, I get teary-eyed. Those times of nothingness never mattered before yet this episode reminded me of its sacredness. The time you spend with other people, with friends that accompany you during your youth, while time flies past with them, you only realize its importance when all of you have been apart. For an episode to have made such an impact to me, I couldn’t help but awe at the simplicity yet efficiency of the approach with regard to the dramatic feel.

I guess, to hate a friend is a way of respecting them

I’m surprised with Anjou’s character. I was expecting that she was a total slut who did nothing but waste time hanging around with her friends but for her to suddenly feel nostalgic and even blame herself for Menma’s death… I guess, this reminds me to “not judge the book by the cover”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kuuki
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 02:25:15

    I’m going to embarass myself to the eyes of the internet but I’ve been crying at each episode so far.
    They play really good on nostalgia, because we spent days like this too, playing cards or out in the woods nearby or even worse, Pokémon in my frontyeard.

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 21:34:19

    There’s nothing really embarrassing on that imo. Besides, I even shed manly tears on this episode and Madoka’s finale 😀

    As for the topic of nostalgia, though it seems to be an inevitable device that will be (ab)used by this series, I do hope that seeing such elements won’t tire me out of this anime. So far, AnoHana has kept pleasing me with its content so it would be a shame if I get bored with it all of a sudden.

    On another note, I have been getting bad vibes from that glasses girl (Tsurumi). She feels evil, not because of how she confronted Anjou but… I really have this feeling that she harbors a deeper form of hatred against Menma.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

