Steins;Gate ep 3: Details that leads to truth and traps


While the first half of this episode was uneventful, the second did present the seriousness of this anime as well as hints coming from the characters themselves making me wonder as to how each would play their role in this story. With that, let’s use an unscientific speculah on this series.

Mayushi

Klutz characters may just even be a front. My gut tells me that there’s something suspicious about her especially after observing how she’s been acting in this series.

Is this a scene from the past or one from the future? Could she be visiting a relative's grave or... Okarin's?


Are dojikko supposed to wear serious expressions like this? In anime, this expression reminds me of regret and dismay. Could she be protecting Okarin by not having him know of the details of time travel?



I'm sure she's well aware of the experiment that they have been doing. Did she intentionally prevent the experiment's success or was this just one of her dojikko moments?


Lastly, iirc, Mayuri's been working with this girl at a maid cafe and seeing as to how she has this serious expression (even if this is the OP animation), can we assume that they are accomplices?

In addition, the first time we see the gel banana happen was when Mayuri was there. As the previous episode cliffhanger, only a piece of the banana transformed when Mayuri was not on the scene. Of course, we can blame this to chance but there’s really something about her that makes me suspicious. In the end, is she Okarin’s friend or foe?

Kiryuu Moeka

It has been mentioned in this episode that the IBN 5100 have a secret function that IBN engineers know of. Could she be an IBN engineer sent from the future? Her impatience in bugging Okarin may even be seen as her struggle against time in wanting to get her hands on the device but on whose side is she?


Amane Suzuha

she triggered every suspicion flag in this episode especially after how she interacted with Okarin but I have a feeling that she’s on their side and perhaps, the reason why she’s being cautious is because she’s being careful of divulging information that may even alter the current timeline which I came to notice…

… A few scenes ago, Hashida knows this stuff. He even explained what the Large Hadron Collider is about yet in this scene, it’s as if…

… somebody fucked-up the timeline that Hashida forgot what this thing even is. Oh man, oh man, talk about one way of catching my interest 😀

I wonder what others think of the characters of this anime? Who do you think are Okarin’s true friends and foes?

While the seriousness piqued my interest, the first half did had me laughing my guts out especially after enjoying Makise blushing at Okarin and Hashida’s jokes 😀

MAKISE IS ❤ !!!

WIN INDEED!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Keiri
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 14:12:18

    If we can’t speculah on the story, we can always speculah on the characters. Nice! 😀

    I found myself agreeing with your observations. Kurisu at least seems to be on Okarin’s side as she hasn’t triggered any calls for suspicion. However, the other characters certainly did. I found Mayuri to be the most suspicious one among them. Her behavior in this episode followed a recognizable pattern of putting on a silly front while hiding her true thoughts and feelings underneath that façade. The way she suddenly opened the microwave and caused the thing to go haywire seems to reek of an unexpected deliberate action on her part. She never interfered when they were microwaving the bananas before. Why do it now? At the moment, I’m also leaning towards the idea of her secretly trying to protect Okarin because she knows something. If she was against him, sabotage doesn’t seem likely as she probably would prefer spying instead to acquire information…unless Okarin’s activities are considered a threat to some other agency’s plans.

    Also, Suzuha’s behavior seems rather familiar when we take into account similar developments in other stories where the characters were intentionally painted in a suspicious light at first but they were eventually revealed to be the protagonists’ allies. Now the puzzling thing is Suzuha didn’t hide it very well like Mayuri did. She was flustered most of the time when Okarin was questioning her but could it be that it was deliberate on her part as well?

    As for the other characters, guess I’ll watch a little more before making further assessments. Moeka for example, is certainly another dubious looking individual. She does appear to be oddly pushy to the degree of sounding excessive but wouldn’t that draw suspicion to herself especially if the person she’s bugging decides to do some research like Okarin did on the IBN 5100 and link it to her search for it? Was that an unintentional carelessness on her part? Or was she purposely trying to give him a hint?

    And from before…

    I have a feeling this anime has pretty much turned on your yuri switch… orz

    Ahaha well, my Ossan Radar is switched on all the time. Just that it hasn’t been active lately. On a related note, I’ve always liked Imai for the shameless pervert she is. I find it amusing how a number of people have commented that she seems to be the perfect model for Kurisu’s character to be based on image-wise, just that Kurisu is not as brazen as she is when it comes to being called a hentai. XD

    I read from somewhere that the setup of Steins;Gate is somewhat similar with Chaos;Head but recalling, wasn’t Chaos;Head a product of the protagonist’s delusion?

    I haven’t gone beyond Episode 3 of Chaos;Head. I wonder if I should at some point. I’ve heard several viewers who completed Chaos;Head claim that Steins;Gate is much better even if we’re only three episodes into the latter. Eh… Chaos;Head was that bad? orz

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 14:59:35

    She never interfered when they were microwaving the bananas before. Why do it now?

    I think having Kana hanazawa voice her is a means to throw viewers off-guard. I mean, who would suspect such a character! But well, her behaviour reeks of suspicion and characters like her may be even doing this to protect Okarin.

    unless Okarin’s activities are considered a threat to some other agency’s plans.

    For all we know, he may even be John Titor’s ancestor? But not going as far as that, I guess the fact that Titor mentioned SERN being able to gain monopoly of time travel technology may imply that Okarin may as well be a hindrance to SERN’s plans considering he has his microwave as a time travelling device.

    On the Imai note, I suggest you try reading Ambi’soup’s Blazblue radio show translations/summaries. If anything, not only did that radio show convince me that Sugita IS God, but I came to love Mingosu as a seiyuu. Her antics with Sugita in that radio show is fabulous 😀

    Eh… Chaos;Head was that bad? orz

    quite… the animation is meh sucks, the plot devices and surprises are random and whatever scientific evidence they used didn’t convince me… orz

    Reply

    • Keiri
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 02:07:51

      I think having Kana hanazawa voice her is a means to throw viewers off-guard. I mean, who would suspect such a character!

      You know… I’d like to see Hanazawawawa do a psycho yangire one day, just for the fun of it. Having a maniacal lunatic with that kind of voice would make things really scary because of how we can’t fathom the idea of her voice accompanying an emo distorted face XD. Hur… I wonder if Sonohara Anri counts.

      On the Imai note, I suggest you try reading Ambi’soup’s Blazblue radio show translations/summaries. If anything, not only did that radio show convince me that Sugita IS God, but I came to love Mingosu as a seiyuu. Her antics with Sugita in that radio show is fabulous 😀

      Ah, that’s right! I recall discussing this…last year, was it? I’ve since finished listening to the entire radio series and all I can say is that show was GOD TIER and one of the best I’ve followed in a long while thanks to Sugita’s antics and Imai’s intuitive follow ups. I felt really sorry for Kondou though, having to put up with two “jerks” who like sexually harassing women with their verbal quips ahaha. Too bad there won’t be any regular continuation of it for now. At the moment, I just have to make do with following Sugita and Mingosu in their own respective current shows.

      As for Steins;Gate, all of the girls ending up as allies doesn’t sound too farfetched but it would be more interesting if one of them turns out to be an actual antagonist. Visual novels need more villainous females who are directly linked to the male protagonist. 😉

      Reply

      • baka~
        Apr 24, 2011 @ 11:07:12

        I’d like to see Hanazawawawa do a psycho yangire one day, just for the fun of it

        Deadman Wonderland perhaps? 😀

        But I doubt the’ll be tackling *that* arc this season 😀

        I wonder if Sonohara Anri counts.

        I don’t think so… She’s not psychotic at least 😀

        Visual novels need more villainous females who are directly linked to the male protagonist.

        The biggest surprise there would be if Mayushi turned out to be the final boss of the series since I’m expecting her to be simply a pawn for the enemy’s grander schemes

  3. Nopy
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 10:31:08

    I’m predicting that it’s going to be like Chaos Head since it is based on a visual novel. All of the girls will be on Okarin’s side.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: The prayer for tomorrow: Puella Magi Madoka Magica « BLOG: Where stupid ideas run wild!
  5. baka~
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 14:02:29

    Thanks for reminding me how that anime went and even though I could not see it happening for this anime, the possibility still exists. As of now, I am still doubtful of their motives

    Reply

  6. Trackback: HanaIro ep 4: Birds of the same feather « BLOG: Where stupid ideas run wild!

Leave a Reply

