Episodic Highlights: HanaIro ep 3 – Eargasmic Eye Raep FTW

This episode is physically and mentally draining... orz


You fail at failing

I never laughed this much because of Junichi Suwabe’s antics. Most of the times, the roles he would land on are usually badass protagonists or arrogant villains. I hardly remember him landing on a comedic role just for the kicks of it and I was quite happy with how he portrayed this perverted, arrogant NEET.

Never mind Omigawa, Aki Toyosaki is a GODDESS (already a fact among seiyuu fans). Was this because of her involvement with Qwaser? fuck! this is one epic eargasm from Aki Toyosaki. Add in Kanae Itou and… *nosebleed* orz

He is annoying for his arrogance but I really can’t help but relate to his realization of powerlessness. I can see pretty much of myself in this guy (except for the ego part) where he lacks the ability to move forward in life. Constantly obeying the rules despite having the urge to rebel, I am reminded of Ohana back in ep 2 where she said the same thing yet, cannot do so because she isn’t naturally capable of doing such feats. After all, Ohana experienced the aftermath of her mother’s rebellion and she was the one deeply influenced by it.

In the end, I do hope that Jirou’s annoying ego will be toned down after this episode. Seeing him turn a new leaf is something I look forward to.

Kudos to grandma here for being absolutely GAR. I knew she’s the type to give tough love but I guess, she may have been too strict with her daughter, Satsuki, causing her to rebel. As much as I see her comment to Ohana as a praise, this had me worrying though. Will Ohana follow the footsteps of her mother to the dark side or will a miracle happen?

Do you guys think Nako is love? 😀

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. feal87
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 14:55:41

    All the girls here are love unfortunately, I’m still in “have to focus on only one of them” phase, sorry. 😛

    Reply

  2. baka~
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 22:50:36

    Ah damn feal! Do you still want to make a contract?

    But as of now, best pick would be between Ohana and Nako.. Minko just sounds like an empty can… orz

    Reply

  3. Keiri
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 13:54:33

    I never laughed this much because of Junichi Suwabe’s antics. Most of the times, the roles he would land on are usually badass protagonists or arrogant villains. I hardly remember him landing on a comedic role just for the kicks of it and I was quite happy with how he portrayed this perverted, arrogant NEET.

    Agreed. This is what makes it first class voice acting and directing – being able to portray a character who is completely different from an actor’s forte AND make it work well. Kudos to Suwabe indeed.

    Aki Toyosaki is a GODDESS

    The way Nako squeaked “Hiii!!!!” at the remark of having been written into a yuri p0rno fic totally had me sold. AINAMA FTW!! And dayumn, didn’t know Nako could look that hawt with her hair messily hanging loose. 😀

    As much as I see her comment to Ohana as a praise, this had me worrying though. Will Ohana follow the footsteps of her mother to the dark side or will a miracle happen?

    From the way things are going, perhaps Ohana having a dash of her mother’s headstrong and free-spirited nature seems to be a good thing, and what makes her different from Satsuki in an encouraging way is that Ohana’s personality is having a positive effect on the people around her. She’s undoubtedly troubling people (like Minko and her grandmother) but she’s weaving her way into their hearts as well. She has one characteristic that her mother has yet to display and that is her desire to win people over by seeing and admitting the faults in herself, and taking responsibility to fix them. For a 26 episodes series, I’m hoping for a storyline arc of Ohana changing her mother and mending Satsuki’s relationship with her mother at some point. 🙂

    Minko just sounds like an empty can… orz

    At least there’s one thing I’ve learned to appreciate about Omigawd Omigawa after those few years of my ears having to put up with her bouyomi acting – her normal voice is almost completely different from her acting voice (Seriously, she sounds like a loli in real life XD). I must admit, I was pretty impressed when she once gave a demonstration of suddenly changing from her normal self into Minko’s character. I guess her being able to change her voice that much for her roles counts as a, um…talent? :p

    Anyway her acting aside, I wish they would release an interview of sorts detailing how the directors cast the seiyuu for HanaIro. I’m especially interested why they picked Omigawa for a role like Minko given how the character is starkly different from the ones she’s used to (Omigawa voicing a serious, grouchy girl is one of the furthest images I have in my mind of her, and this role could either make her or break her despite her questionable acting skills). Things can certainly turn out interesting when you hear similar stories like why Saitou Chiwa was given Akemi Homura despite seemingly aiming for Miki Sayaka, or why Hikasa Youko was cast for Shinonono Houki even though she also auditioned for Cecilia Alcott.

    And ah yes, now that I’ve spoiled myself on how Wakura Yuina sounds like, I am really looking forward to the next episode. Tomacchan doing a fluffy and floaty, airheaded ojousama with a mix of Tamura Yukari idol-style is fascinating. 😀

    Reply

  4. baka~
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 15:05:20

    her normal voice is almost completely different from her acting voice (Seriously, she sounds like a loli in real life XD)

    don’t tease me Keiri! X_X

    I don’t want to do research on her just yet (this revelation aside, she has yet to catch my interest)

    I must admit, I was pretty impressed when she once gave a demonstration of suddenly changing from her normal self into Minko’s character.

    Uhm… I’m quite confused, are you praising Omigawa for her real lolie voice or her capability to change her voice depending on the role? Afaik, she used this same voice when she played as P-Ko from Arakawa UTB and Maka Albarn from Soul Eater

    why Hikasa Youko was cast for Shinonono Houki even though she also auditioned for Cecilia Alcott.

    I couldn’t see this happening! I couldn’t imagine Pikasha going ~desu wa O_O

    omacchan doing a fluffy and floaty, airheaded ojousama with a mix of Tamura Yukari idol-style is fascinating.

    She won’t sound like Nagi from Kannagi in this role right? then again, Heitei Hime from Katanagatari perhaps? =/

    Reply

    • Keiri
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 02:11:37

      don’t tease me Keiri! X_X

      Er… I don’t think this is one “loli” you’d like to listen to. She still has that distinctive grating squeak in her voice, only with a much higher pitch. To be honest, I prefer listening to her in her character voice rather than her real voice. Now if only she could speak just as naturally in her acting as she does in real life. >_<

      I’m quite confused, are you praising Omigawa for her real lolie voice or her capability to change her voice depending on the role?

      Her capability to use a voice for acting that is starkly different from her normal voice. I guess that is a basic skill expected from all seiyuu but the fact that Omigawa’s characters sound really different from her normal voice somewhat impresses me. I’ve always found that simple aspect of VAs being able to sound like a completely different person when switching between “normal” and “acting” fascinating. There are quite a number of seiyuu out there who sound almost exactly the same both in real life and the characters they voice (and in some cases, all of their characters sound nearly alike). Shintani Ryouko and Nonaka Ai are prime examples, although we could probably pin that on the uniqueness of their voice. Well, at least they’re better at acting. XD

      I couldn’t see this happening! I couldn’t imagine Pikasha going ~desu wa O_O

      Funnily enough, I recall hearing Pikasha doing a demonstration of an arrogant ojousama once in some radio show (Unfortunately I forgot which one coz it was a couple of years back orz) and she actually sounded pretty good. It’s one of the role types I’d love to observe her take on in the near future and with the right sound director, it could turn out to be rather enjoyable ^^. Just that when it came to Cecilia, Hikasa admitted she lacked the subtle childish + feminine regal aura which Yukana is so skilled at exuding.

      She won’t sound like Nagi from Kannagi in this role right? then again, Heitei Hime from Katanagatari perhaps? =/

      Based on the demo Tomatsu gave, Yuina sounded like a cross between Infinite Stratos’ Tabane and Qwaser’s Tomo…with Tomatsu’s voice? Or to be more specific, the way Yuina talks reminds me of Tabane a lot, just that her speech’s pace and tone are more similar to Tomo’s slow, sleepy, fluffy, airheaded style with a hint of underlying mischief. Then again, Tomacchan did express concern that she was spoiling how Yuina sounded like before her character was even introduced in the TV show, so she could have been trolling the lot of us who were listening. For all we know, that might not even be Yuina’s real personality, just a front she puts on for the sake of a public image. ^^;

      Reply

      • baka~
        Apr 24, 2011 @ 11:18:03

        I prefer listening to her in her character voice rather than her real voice

        so Omigawa has potential to level up among the ranks of seiyuu but she needs to work on her acting, correct?

        Shintani Ryouko and Nonaka Ai are prime examples, although we could probably pin that on the uniqueness of their voice. Well, at least they’re better at acting. XD

        Surprisingly, most male seiyuu that I look up to would almost use the same voice but covers it up with darn good acting such as Takahiro Sakurai, Wakamoto Norio, kazuya Nakai. I guess the merits of a good seiyuu would be the capability to showcase different voices and/or good acting.

        Yuina sounded like a cross between Infinite Stratos’ Tabane and Qwaser’s Tomo…with Tomatsu’s voice?

        Now this is something to look forward to! The character interests me already but now that you mentioned that she may be trolling, this may end up to be another one of her strong character roles.

  5. Nopy
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 10:27:04

    Nako moved up a bit in my books, but not enough to surpass Ohana, she’s still my favourite character in the series.

    Reply

  6. baka~
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 14:04:33

    Nako is timid when compared to Ohana. I guess, the more “energetic” characters gets to have the most attention 😀

    Reply

  7. Trackback: HanaIro ep 4: Birds of the same feather « BLOG: Where stupid ideas run wild!

Leave a Reply

