Overloading developments isn’t a bad thing… not with this anime



From a lolicon's standpoint, this makes me very envious at Kujo


Despite nothing grand happening in this episode, I find myself embracing this peace warmly. From all the adventures and developments that happened for the past 11 episodes, even our protagonists needed a break and what more rewarding scene than to be flooded with Victorique goodness… and there’s Kujo too which I oddly came to like in this episode.

Despite his usual blunders, his emo self is something I strongly relate to and whenever he undergoes this phase, I notice how serious he can be. Though, I wished he could bring out that seriousness when they are on a case but I digress.

One of Gosick’s selling point was never the mystery. Even the puzzles presented in this episode would pale in comparison when pitted against real detective genre. But from what Gosick lacks in the mystery field, it makes up with its devotion to character development and oddly enough, despite the numerous character development presented at every opportunity for this anime, I never got tired of it.

Maybe it’s because of Victorique’s cute expressions that distract me from every episode. Or perhaps, Yuuki Aoi’s superb acting. Whatever it is, Gosick has this mysterious charm, a firm hold that catches my attention and keeps me wanting for more. On that note, I simply can’t help but wonder what compels others to continue watching this anime.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. @fkeroge
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 22:54:51

    AH! I forgot to watch it today! XP

    Reply

  2. Kuuki
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 23:58:48

    I watch for various reasons, starting to watch because I’m in love with the music writer and still am, then continued for the atmosphere, the characters and that strange ability to never bore me even when nothing happens.

    And Yuuki Aoi as Victorique is just wonderful, I had a hard time at first but she made me fall in love.

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 01:09:38

    hmm so you’re saying that the first thing that attracted you to watching this anime is the music? =/

    quite a fresh perspective there. my preferences would always prioritize seiyuu but come to think of it, I wonder when was the last time an anime caught my attention not just because of story or character concept but because of the mood that its soundtracks create.

    thanks for the insight 😀

    Reply

    • Kuuki
      Apr 11, 2011 @ 14:09:13

      Exactly. There are a few music writers who do that to me.
      I would never have continued Madoka if it wasn’t for the music because I absolutely hated the first episode, I’m so glad I did.

      I normally prioritize seiyuu too but my ears fall in love with a wide range of things and I’m glad I got over my dislike of Yuuki Aoi.
      Very glad.

      Reply

      • baka~
        Apr 11, 2011 @ 22:05:59

        eh? you disliked Yuuki Aoi? I’m curious and I would like to know why… could it be one of her previous roles like *cough*Kure-nai*cough*?

  4. Kuuki
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 22:52:33

    Nope, Mina Tepes in Dance in the Vampire Bund.
    Her voice gratted on my ears quite a lot.

    Reply

  5. baka~
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 22:01:13

    ugh… Bund was a good manga… I wondered what went wrong in the anime D:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

