Hanasaku Iroha: Did this anime poke my tear buds?

Sometimes, reality can't be stranger than fiction


Did I check this anime to run for 26 episodes in my MAL? It’s not that I’ll be blogging about this diligently (or if ever, at all) but I’m quite surprised at myself for actually liking this kind of anime. I was seriously expecting to be bored to death after reading its synopsis so it’s quite a surprise to find myself glued to my seat (er… edge of my bed) as I watched this anime.

To list what I have liked about this episode so far:

1) good quality animation

The art has been consistently good so far. The quality isn't top notch but is fitting for the theme of this anime... on another note, her hair and eyes remind me of Aisaka Taiga

For a horriblesubs release, I was expecting the video to be full of shit but it’s surprisingly clean and unlike Cardfight Vanguard!, it ran very well on my MediaPlayer Classic

2) Anime rendition of real-life drama is better than local drama

The moment the opening song(?) began on this scene while Ohana started with her tears definitely moved me

Man, even though it’s early to predict how this anime will turn out, the fact that this first episode caught my attention is good enough for me to realize how lame our local soap dramas are. There’s something unique with this series. Something naturally moving and aspiring that I can’t help but follow Ohana’s life at the inn. Unlike our local heroines, Ohana has amazed me with her authentic personality. She’s a very head-strong character but her recklessness causes shit to happen around her and even though she suffers because of it (or causes others to suffer), you can feel the determination from her and I guess, aside from her concept, the other factor that made her likable is…

3) Kanae Itou

The way Ohana did her best to hide her tears but failing miserably because of her shaking voice is definitely something made authentic thanks to Kanae Itou's talent

I couldn’t stress how much of an important factor this is. It may be Kanae Itou’s charm and talent as a seiyuu but her take as Ohana was convincing. I guess Ohana resembles Ruiko Saten when it comes to personality. Both of them are head-strong characters yet they are soft and seemingly nostalgic in the inside. I don’t know. I guess I had this fondness for female heroines who lie to themselves, putting up a brave front in order to hide their tears. All I see is bravery and strength in those types and characters like that deliver the most content, the ‘cake’ if you will, in a ‘slice of life’ anime.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. afkeroge
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 10:17:19

    Hanasaku Iroha sort of reminds me of Pinoy Telenovelas, but of course, this is much, much better.

    Reply

  2. Nopy
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 12:17:37

    A lot of people have pointed out the great animation and drama, but you’re the first I’ve come across that mentioned the superb acting. Like you said, Kanae Itou did a great job playing Ohana’s part. It’s too bad that anime dubs don’t have this level of quality in their voice actors.

    Reply

  3. baka~
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 22:56:27

    @afk

    I guess one thing that pisses me off with our form of drama is that it heavily emphasizes on family and dependence with other people (friends, lovers). The good thing with Japanese anime, regardless of action or drama, is that it promotes individuality and camaraderie (which is way out of league when compared with our version of friendship and camaraderie)

    @nopy

    Well, I am mostly a seiyuu fan even if I lack the sources to stalk gather information about seiyuu. I guess the reason why I came to be was because I simply got tired of hearing lifeless or exaggerated local/english dubs… orz

    Reply

    • afkeroge
      Apr 07, 2011 @ 10:56:09

      What I don’t like about our drama is how the characters have only one-dimensional personalities. And any attempt on them making them more “human” is outright ridiculous.

      Reply

  4. MkMiku
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 17:59:40

    Going to watch this once I have the time, as all my friends already are. I can already tell I’m going to like it from the screen shots and considering it’s from P.A. Works.

    Reply

  5. baka~
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 19:42:55

    If you have a knack for drama or just wanted to cry your heart out then I suggest you do 😀

    Reply

  6. Keiri
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 23:12:59

    Ah… My first spring show. And the only spring show I’ve seen so far. ^^;;;

    Likewise, I wasn’t very drawn to the idea of picking this up after reading the summary but I’m glad I pushed myself to and I found myself pleasantly surprised by how it fared. I must agree what attracted me the most was how authentic Ohana’s personality is. She’s a dreamer and sometimes an idealist with regards to how things should be, even to the point of being almost “unbelievable” in a sense. I mean, how many of us have the guts to take responsibility like she did? How many of us have the guts to ask for punishment like she did? To be treated as equally as someone who (presently) hates her and told her to “die”. I bet a lot of us would simply keep our mouth shut and watch the other person eat all the dirt, all the more so if that person brandishes an ill attitude towards us. Even so, there are still very few people out there who would do what Ohana did. She’s just incredibly awesome. 😀

    It may be Kanae Itou’s charm and talent as a seiyuu but her take as Ohana was convincing

    Spot on! I absolutely loved the way she expresses Ohana’s emotions, especially when she shows that vulnerable side of her personality. And apart from her fantastic voice acting, I’m giving a fair share of credit to the sound director as well i.e. Aketagawa Jin, who is responsible for guiding the VAs during their recordings. I’ve always been very fond of his works as he never fails to deliver series after series of brilliant voice acting e.g. Seikon no Qwaser (Hey, he got Pikasha to produce that fabulous heavy panting ♥), Shakugan no Shana, To Aru Kagaku no Railgun, ToraDora! and CANAAN are just to name a few of his undertakings. With regards to this, I wonder how harsh he was on Kanae during her recordings for Ohana. We already know Aketagawa is a hardcore sadist when it comes to his directing work so it makes me curious if he got Kanae to do tons of retakes until she got Ohana’s scenes perfect. That happened rather often during Railgun’s voice recording sessions (Kanae was forced to do quite a number of retakes every now and then for her lines as Saten as he wasn’t satisfied with how she acted out some of the scenes).

    Speaking of harsh directing, I hope Aketagawa whips Omigawd Omigawa into shape lol. Well, I haven’t ripped off my bleeding ears yet after watching the first episode so that probably counts as a good sign that she’s improving somewhat. XD

    Reply

  7. baka~
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 21:34:34

    I guess hearing Omigawa from Arakawa UTB trained my ears to survive her pitch but nevertheless, I find it quite surprising that she’s one of the main characters of this anime. I do hope she gets better under Aketagawa’s guidance. Since you share how prominent he is as a sound director, I am convinced of his capability to bring out the most in a seiyuu 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

